Teuflesberg is out; seven confirmed in

The Baltimore Sun

Teuflesberg will not run in Saturday's Preakness, trainer and co-owner Jamie Sanders announced yesterday.

In other news, Hall of Fame conditioner D. Wayne Lukas confirmed yesterday to Pimlico Race Course officials that he will be entering Flying First Class, an impressive winner of the Derby Trial at Churchill Downs on April 28.

Teuflesberg, who finished 17th in last weekend's Kentucky Derby, was originally scheduled to leave Kentucky tomorrow for Pimlico.

"We need to do what is right for the horse," Sanders said. "He has given us everything leading up to this spot, including the Derby. It was a tough decision, but it is a long campaign and we have a lot of races in store for him."

Teuflesberg has raced 16 times in his career with four victories, including the $250,000 Southwest Stakes at Oaklawn Park in February.

The defection leaves the Preakness with seven confirmed starters: Derby winner Street Sense, Hard Spun, Curlin, Flying First Class, King of the Roxy, Mint Slewlep and Xchanger. C P West and Chelokee remain possibilities.

Flying First Class won the Derby Trial after a pair of off-the-board finishes in the Arkansas Derby and Rebel Stakes at Oaklawn Park earlier in the year. Mark Guidry, who was aboard for the Churchill score, retains the mount.

"We think he is coming up to the race in good order and he's been doing what we've asked of him," said Lukas, who has started a record 31 horses in the middle jewel and has won the Woodlawn Vase five times. "I think he merits the chance. He's earned it."

Lukas removed Starbase from consideration for the Preakness but could start him in the Barbaro Stakes on the Preakness undercard. In December, the Maryland Jockey Club announced the former Sir Barton Stakes had been renamed the Barbaro Stakes to honor last year's Kentucky Derby winner who was injured in the 2006 Preakness.

Also yesterday, agent Steve Rushing told the Pimlico media relations staff that his rider, former Maryland star Ramon Dominguez, has secured the mount on Chelokee if trainer Michael Matz decides to run his colt in the Preakness.

If Chelokee doesn't go, Dominguez, 30, who won his 3,000th race last week, would ride Xchanger. The pair teamed up to win the Tesio Stakes at Pimlico three weeks ago. Dominguez will work Chelokee this morning at the Fair Hill Training Center.

Matz has indicated he'll decide whether to run the son of Cherokee Run in the Preakness, Barbaro Stakes or wait for the Ohio Derby after the breeze. Dominguez would also have the mount if Matz chooses the Barbaro.

Matz's decision to ride Dominguez opened the door for Nick Zito to name Edgar Prado as the rider on C P West. A final decision whether the son of Came Home will start will be made tomorrow morning after the Withers Stakes runner-up breezes, but Zito is expecting to have a Preakness starter for the 14th time in the past 17 years.

"It is good karma to secure a jock in advance," Zito said. "And Edgar certainly knows his way around Pimlico."

Prado won 14 riding titles at the track in the 1990s.

The field


Horse Trainer Jockey Last start Street Sense Carl Nafzger Calvin Borel Kentucky Derby, 1st Hard Spun Larry Jones Mario Pino Kentucky Derby, 2nd Curlin Steve Asmussen Robby Albarado Kentucky Derby, 3rd Flying First Class D. Wayne Lukas Mark Guidry Derby Trial, 1st King of the Roxy Todd Pletcher John Velazquez Santa Anita Derby, 2nd Mint Slewlep Robbie Bailes Alan Garcia Withers Stakes, 4th Xchanger Mark Shuman TBA Tesio Stakes, 1st


C P West Nick Zito Edgar Prado Withers Stakes, 2nd Chelokee Michael Matz Ramon Dominguez Florida Derby, 3rd

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad