The Baltimore Sun

Business group honors residents

Four Harford County residents are Maryland winners of the U.S. Small Business Administration's annual Small Business Week awards program.

The awards recognize excellence in business throughout Maryland.

Harford winners for 2007 are:

Small Business Person of the Year: Hollis Thomases, Web Advantage Inc., Havre de Grace.

Family-Owned Small Business of the Year: Chuck Boyle, Boyle Buick Pontiac Inc., Abingdon.

Financial Services Champion of the Year: Kathy Wajer, Harford County Office of Economic Development, Bel Air.

District Director's Unsung Hero Award: Al Henry, Havre de Grace, and Harford County Small Business Development Center, Bel Air.

Maryland winners will be honored at the 2007 Maryland Small Business Week Awards Breakfast at 7 a.m. Friday at Martin's West.

Information: 410-962-6195, ext. 330.

The SBDC, Harford Community College, Harford County Office of Economic Development and other organizations will recognize the winners again at the "BRAC and Your Bottom Line" small-business conference May 22 in the Chesapeake Center at Harford Community College.

Information: 410-836-4237, ext. 1.

The Arc completes Bel Air residence

The Arc Project has completed construction of a four-bedroom home for clients on Tollgate Road in Bel Air.

The home was built by Gemcraft Homes to accommodate residents who use wheelchairs or walkers.

Two Arc clients have moved into the house and a third is expected. The fourth bedroom is for respite care.

The house was funded largely by donations from the builder, a masonry company, interior decorator, a landscaper and other donors.

Freedom Federal elects officers

Freedom Federal Credit Union recently celebrated 54 years in business and elected officers at its annual meeting.

Hugo Biermann, James Church Jr. and Donald W. Matts Jr. were re-elected to three-year terms on the board of directors.

Board officers for 2007-08 are: Donald W. Matts Jr., chairman; Hugo Biermann, vice chairman; and Robert Roddy Jr., secretary.

Appointed committee members include Aaron Moszer, chairman; Tina Anderson, secretary; and Amelia Hentschel as a member to the Supervisory Committee; and Ben Casole, chairman, and James Church and Michael Kaiser as members of the Credit Committee.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad