Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!


The Baltimore Sun

Performer of the Year

Liz McCarter

Mount Hebron

She didn't miss a beat after winning the Class 3A state championship in cross country last fall and helped the Vikings to a strong winter season. The Syracuse-bound senior won the 800, 1,600 and 3,200 in the Howard County championships, paving the way for Mount Hebron's team title. She followed that by taking the 800 and 1,600 at the Class 3A-2A West regional meet, as the Vikings took third there. In the state meet, McCarter won the 800, but Katie Hursey from North Carroll used a late kick to beat her in the 1,600. That's how McCarter had defeated Hursey in the state championship cross country race.

Coaches of the Year

Paul Ulrich and Matt Gitterman

Mount Hebron

They had a good starting point with McCarter, but Ulrich and Gitterman did a nice job of getting balance from the Vikings and not just relying on their star. The Vikings have developed several performers they can get points from, such as freshman Eryn Donaldson and seniors Arielle Butler and Kristen Haley. All three won events at the Howard County championships and were a big reason Mount Hebron won decisively.

The team

Name School Class

Funmi Alabi Long Reach Sophomore

Arielle Butler Mount Hebron Senior

Eryn Donaldson Mount Hebron Freshman

Kristen Haley Mount Hebron Senior

Katie Harman River Hill Sophomore

Alyce Harrell Long Reach Senior

Jocelyn Henline Marriotts Ridge Junior

Kim Humpbert Hammond Sophomore

Liz McCarter Mount Hebron Senior

Nicole Robinson Atholton Senior

Laura Shoemaker Wilde Lake Sophomore

Note -- Team selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad