The Baltimore Sun

County Library

Web --

Central Library -- 10375 Little Patuxent Parkway, Columbia. 410-313-7800.

East Columbia branch -- 6600 Cradlerock Way, Columbia. 410-313-7700.

Elkridge branch -- 6540 Washington Blvd., Elkridge. 410-313-5088.

Glenwood branch -- 2350 Route 97, Cooksville. 410-313-5577.

Miller branch -- 9421 Frederick Road, Ellicott City. 410-313-1950.

Savage branch -- 9525 Durness Lane, Laurel. 410-880-5980.


Borrowing library materials -- Howard County library cards entitle cardholders to borrow up to 30 items at a time. Borrowing is limited in some categories.

Borrowing from Maryland public libraries -- Howard County library cards may be used to borrow materials from any public library in Maryland.

Library card applications -- People who live, work or attend school in Maryland may apply at a county library for a library card. The library imposes no age requirement, but a photo identification card showing name and address is needed. A parent's signature is required for applicants younger than age 13.

Library collections -- In addition to books, libraries lend audiocassettes, compact discs, toys and videotapes. Contact a library branch.

Ag Library

Address -- Cooperative Extension, 3525-L Ellicott Mills Drive, Ellicott City.

Collection -- Reference materials and videos on horse, livestock and small-animal management, livestock judging, home gardening, nutrition and youth development. Information: 410-313-2707.

HCC library

Address -- Galleria Room L-200, 10901 Little Patuxent Parkway, Columbia.

Collection -- Howard Community College library is open to county residents and maintains about 45,000 books. Library cards are free for students, faculty and staff, and cost $35 a year for others. Hours and policies: 410-772-4922 and on the Web.

Sources: County Library, Maryland Cooperative Extension, and HCC

U.S., Md., local leaders

Federal officials

Senators -- Barbara A. Mikulski, Democrat, 202-224-4654; Benjamin L. Cardin, Democrat, 202-224-4524.

Representatives -- Seventh District: Elijah E. Cummings, Democrat, 202-225-4741; Third District: John Sarbanes, Democrat, 202-225-4016

State officials

State's attorney -- Timothy McCrone, Democrat, 410-313-2108

Sheriff -- James Fitzgerald, Democrat, 410-313-2150

General Assembly

District 9 -- State Sen. Allan H. Kittleman. Republican, 410-841-3671; Del. Gail H. Bates. Republican, 410-841-3556; Del. Warren E. Miller, Republican, 410-841-3582

District 12 -- State Sen. Edward J. Kasemeyer, Democrat, 410-841-3653.

District 12A -- Del. James Malone Jr., Democrat, 410-841-3378; Del. Steven J. DeBoy Sr., Democrat, 410-841-3328

District 12B -- Del. Elizabeth Bobo, Democrat, 410-715-3205

District 13 -- State Sen. James N. Robey, Democrat, 410-841-3572; Del. Shane E. Pendergrass, Democrat, 410-841-3139; Del. Frank S. Turner, Democrat, 410-841-3246; Del. Guy Guzzone, Democrat, 410-841-3471


Howard County executive -- Ken Ulman, Democrat, 410-313-2013

County Council

District 1 -- Courtney Watson, Democrat, 410-313-2001

District 2 -- Calvin Ball, Democrat, 410-313-2001

District 3 -- Jen Terassa, Democrat, 410-313-2001

District 4 -- Mary Kay Sigaty, Democrat, 410-313-2001

District 5 -- Greg Fox, Republican, 410-313-2001

School board-- Diane Mikulis, 410-531-7489-- Patricia S. Gordon, 410-313-9324-- Ellen Flynn Giles, 410-880-0820-- Larry Cohen, 410-992-9616-- Sandra H. French, 410-531-2394-- Frank Aquino, 443-878-9317-- Janet Siddiqui, 410-715-2478

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad