The Baltimore Sun



ASTROS -- Agreed to one-year contracts with P Juan Gutierrez, P Fernando Nieve, P Felipe Paulino and P Wandy Rodriguez.

DEVIL RAYS -- Agreed to one-year contracts with P Shawn Camp, IF Jorge Cantu, P Jason Hammel, P Scott Kazmir, P Jae Kuk Ryu, P Juan Salas, P James Shields and IF B.J. Upton.

GIANTS -- Agreed to four-year contract with P Matt Cain.

MARLINS -- Released P Travis Bowyer and re-signed him to minor league contract.

RANGERS -- Agreed to one-year contracts with OF Jason Botts, IF Ian Kinsler, P John Koronka, and P C.J. Wilson.

REDS -- Agreed to one-year contracts with IF Jeff Keppinger, OF Norris Hopper, P Elizardo Ramirez and 3B Edwin Encarnacion, and minor league contract with P Dustin Hermanson.


BUCKS -- Signed C Jared Reiner for remainder of season.

GRIZZLIES -- Signed G Junior Harrington for remainder of season. Assigned F Alexander Johnson to D-League Arkansas.

LAKERS -- Fined F Vladimir Radmanovic undisclosed amount for violating his contract by snowboarding, which led to separated shoulder injury.

TRAIL BLAZERS -- Announced resignation of president and GM Steve Patterson. Named CEO Tod Leiweke interim president and GM.


ARMY -- Named Robert Lyles linebackers coach, John Tice (Maryland) offensive line coach and Tucker Waugh running backs coach.

FLORIDA STATE -- Named defensive ends coach Jody Allen special teams coordinator.

LOYOLA -- MAAC named Joe Logan women's basketball Coach of the Year.

MOUNT ST. MARY'S -- NEC named junior G Tiffany Green women's basketball Defensive Player of the Year and senior F Dita Krumberga to women's basketball all-conference first team.

TOWSON -- Named Greg Paynter women's soccer coach.


BEARS -- Signed coach Lovie Smith to four-year contract extension through 2011 and GM Jerry Angelo to contract through 2013.

BILLS -- Re-signed CB Jabari Greer. Released G Chris Villarrial and S Matt Bowen.

BUCCANEERS -- Re-signed RB Mike Alstott to one-year contract. Released OT Kenyatta Walker.

CHARGERS -- Released WR Keenan McCardell, LB Steve Foley and S Terrence Kiel.

COWBOYS -- Named Brian Stewart defensive coordinator.

DOLPHINS -- Released OL Seth McKinney, former Ravens OL Bennie Anderson and WR Eric Kimble.

EAGLES -- Named Jeff Nixon special teams quality control coach.

49ERS -- Agreed to contract with DL Bryant Young.

JAGUARS -- Signed RB Fred Taylor to three-year contract extension.

JETS -- Signed WR Jerricho Cotchery to contract extension. Released RB Derrick Blaylock and DL Bobby Hamilton.

LIONS -- Re-signed LB Alex Lewis to three-year contract.

SAINTS -- Released TE Ernie Conwell and WR Joe Horn.

SEAHAWKS -- Tendered contract offers to OT Sean Locklear, WR D.J. Hackett, DB Jordan Babineaux, LB Niko Koutovides, DT Craig Terrill and FB Leonard Weaver.

STEELERS -- Released LB Joey Porter, RB Verron Haynes and OT Ulish Booker.

TITANS -- Released TE Erron Kinney.

VIKINGS -- Released CB Fred Smoot, TE Jermaine Wiggins and T Mike Rosenthal. Tendered contract offers to LB Heath Farwell and P Chris Kluwe.


D.C. UNITED (MLS) -- Released M Domenic Mediate. Named Marco Antonio Etcheverry special consultant to the president. Announced four-year deal for Comcast SportsNet to televise team's entire 30-game schedule.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad