Hereford defends county title

The Baltimore Sun

Dulaney's Matt Jacobs (145) won a battle of defending Baltimore County champs, 5-4, yesterday at Parkville over Class 2A-1A state runner-up Tony Mack (28-1) of Owings Mills on a reversal with 13 seconds left. It was the 140th career win for Jacobs (34-1), who is favored to win this year's 4A-3A state crown. Mack is favored in 2A-1A.

"It's the kind of competition I need at this point," said Jacobs, a third-place finisher at last year's 4A-3A state meet, whose teammate, Jack Leary (135), also won. "I think he's the best guy I'll face."

Hereford won its second straight crown, with Jeremy Keil (130), two-time state champ Josh Asper (160) and Anthony Schabdach (215) taking titles.

Runner-up Milford Mill's champs were Adeleke Ibironkie (119), Terrance Owens (125) and Nile Alexander (285).

Lem Satterfield

Baltimore City

Nicknamed "Mighty Mouse," Antonio McCree was a diminutive player on Edmondson's 2A state champion football team. Last night at Digital Harbor, the 135-pound wrestler joined his brother, Chance (119) and Leontay Brown (145) as individual titlists to lead the Red Storm to the Baltimore City team wrestling title.

Runner-up Mervo's champions were three-time champ Lamone Wilson (112), Clyde Thompson (103) and Rowlett Jamar (215). Douglass had two champs, Antonio McKiver (189) and Glenn Kelley (285), as did Carver with Antwan Reed (140) and Danny Johnson (152).

Others winning titles were Digital Harbor's Adekola Olagunjo (125), Walbrook's Derek Chester (160) and City's Kamar Gainey (171), a repeat champion.

Lem Satterfield

Anne Arundel County

Old Mill had five individual champions to capture the program's 15th county championship and Arundel senior Nicole Woody (103) became Anne Arundel's first female champion at the county championship at Arundel High.

Old Mill senior Greg Saumenig (125) won his third county title and Tim Lobuglio (130), Nic Box (160), Ethan Brown (189) and heavyweight Justin Faithful followed with titles as the Patriots won the team title by a 215-188 margin over runner-up Severna Park.

Woody made history in her home gym to open the championship round. In control throughout the match and taking a 6-2 lead into the third period, she pinned South River's Curtis Taylor with 18 seconds left to put an exclamation mark on the history-making win.

"My first year I finished third and then I took second last year, so I wanted it so bad," said Woody, who will take a 27-3 record into the region tournament. "I just worked extremely hard and the longer you work for something, the better it feels."

Depth proved to be the difference for the Patriots, who went into the tournament's second day trailing by nine points to Severna Park. The Patriots had a sixth wrestler reach the championship round, three wrestlers come back to take third and three more coming back to take seventh place.

Glenn Graham

Carroll County

South Carroll champions Ryon Reiter (112), C.J. Naper (130), Steve Willingham (140), Zac Stavish (160) and Tyler Mullen (171) helped pull a mild upset, 169-159, over defending Carroll County champ North Carroll in the meet at South Carroll. Stavish returned from a hip injury to defeat Liberty's Joe Ribeau, 5-1, and Mullen, a state runner-up, had three pins.

North Carroll's Tom Goretsas (125) defeated Century's former state runner-up, Alex Grassi, 3-1, and was joined by Jeremy Seipp (119) and Jason Thomen (215) in victory.

Lem Satterfield

Howard County

Hammond senior Vince Taweel became the program's second wrestler to win a fourth county championship, but Glenelg had the final say in knocking off the two-time defending champ Bears, 175-167.5, at Reservoir.

Glenelg's Brian Marcoux (119) upset Hammond's defending state champ Devon Gillett, 3-1, to come away with a decisive win. The Gladiators also got titles from Chris Stinnett (125), Danny Bichner (130) and Tim Chase (171) to capture their first county championship.

For Taweel, who captured the 135-pound class with a first-period pin over Reservoir's Zach Coe, matching the effort of Hammond 1997 grad Josh Zillmer is a satisfying honor. But Taweel still has unfinished business as he tries to become a four-time state champion in the coming weeks.

Glenn Graham


Rising Sun ended Harford Tech's two-year run at the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference tournament at Aberdeen. The Cecil County school won five individual titles and posted 284.5 points, beating out Bel Air (223) and Harford Tech (201).

Bel Air got individual championships from Joe Frazier (125), Matt Cross (140) and heavyweight Matt Alexander. The Bobcats also had three-second places while Harford Tech also finished with three championships.

Brandon Gain (103), Mark Taylor (119) and Matt Oates (130) won for the Cobras, who had captured the first two UCBAC team titles.

Jeff Seidel

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad