James Yager, senior associate dean for academic affairs at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, has been named the Edyth H. Schoenrich Professor in Preventive Medicine.

A professor of toxicology in the department of environmental health sciences, and an expert on the mechanisms of estrogen carcinogenesis, Yager focuses his research on the genetic and environmental susceptibility factors related to breast cancer.


Yaeger's professorship is named in honor of Schoenrich, credited with developing one of the nation's premier preventive health programs at Bloomberg.

Dr. Richard J. Battafarano has been named head of the division of thoracic surgery at the University of Maryland Medical Center and a member of the surgical faculty at the University of Maryland School of Medicine.


As a chest surgeon who specializes in lung and esophageal cancer, Battafarano will also pay a key role in caring for patients at the University of Maryland Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Cancer Center, UM officials said.

Battafarano comes to Maryland from the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, where he was an assistant professor of surgery in the division of cardiothoracic surgery since 1999.

Dr. Paul S. Fishman has been appointed the chief of neurology service for the Veterans Affairs Maryland Health Care System, having previously served as the department's acting director.

Fishman is also a professor of neurology, an adjunct professor of pharmacology and therapeutics, an adjunct professor of anatomy and neuroscience and director of the Alzheimer's Center at the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

Fishman received his medical degree from the Johns Hopkins University and a doctorate in neurobology from Yale University.

Dr. Andrew Shapiro has been appointed associate director of The Continence Center at Chesapeake Urology Associates and chief of urology at Kernan Hospital, where he provides specialized neurourologic care to patients with spinal cord injuries.

Shapiro, who has also been appointed co-director of the Continence Program at Northwest Hospital Center, received his medical degree from the University of Pittsburgh and completed a fellowship in continence, pelvic reconstruction and neurourology at the University of Texas in Houston.