Field is set in Annapolis for city council elections

The field of candidates for the special election to fill two vacant Annapolis Board of Aldermen seats was set last night after about 500 voters cast ballots in a two-ward city primary election.

Seven people had filed candidacies for the open seats by the Dec. 11 deadline. One Democrat and one Republican won nominations in each ward and places on the ballot for the Jan. 30 special election. Their campaigns largely focused on crime, traffic and quality of life in their respective wards.


In Ward 4, where Democrat Wayne Taylor stepped down to head the Anne Arundel County Department of Aging and Disabilities, Democrat Sheila M. Finlayson will face Republican James M. Conley, a financial strategist and chief executive officer of a mortgage company, who ran unopposed.

Finlayson, former president of the Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County, defeated Brian D. Tucker by a vote of 165-44. Tucker, a literacy instructor at the Odenton YMCA, ran a grass-roots campaign, while Finlayson had the backing of many Democratic officials, including Ward 3 Alderwoman Classie Gillis Hoyle.


Ward 4, in the western part of Annapolis, includes such economically disparate communities as Newtowne 20, Bywater, Annapolis Walk and Kingsport. Democrats outnumber Republicans by more than 2-to-1 in the ward.

In Ward 8, which Democrat Josh Cohen represented before his election to the County Council in November, Democrat Ross Arnett beat Paul Foer by a vote of 287-128.

Arnett, a retired federal employee and former president of the Eastport Civic Association, will face Republican Frank B. Bradley, a semiretired small-business owner who moonlights as Santa Claus.

Bradley beat Joel Saline, an engineering consultant, by a vote of 101-46.

Ward 8, which is entirely in Eastport, has 1,576 registered Democrats and 1,125 Republicans.

Residents have until Jan. 16 to register for the special election.

Those who are elected will take office Feb. 12 and serve the remaining three years of the terms of the departed council members.