Public schools closed until Jan. 2

Carroll County public schools and offices will be closed tomorrow and reopen Jan. 2.


Information: 410-751-3020.

Essays in honor of King sought


The office of multicultural services at McDaniel College, the department of minority achievement and intervention programs of Carroll County Public Schools and the Westminster branch of the NAACP are sponsoring the annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Writing Contest beginning Jan. 2.

This year's theme is "Honoring Dr. King by Continuing the Legacy of Leadership: New Voices, New Visions." Essays are due at the office of multicultural services at McDaniel College by Jan. 16. Winners will be notified Jan. 24 and be honored at a ceremony on Jan. 29 with cash prizes and gift bags.

Information: Patricia Levroney, 410-386-1680.

Interest-free loans offered students

The Ruth Gosnell Education Fund, directed by the Springfield Presbyterian Church, offers interest-free loans to full-time college juniors and seniors and graduate students. Regardless of religion, all applicants will receive impartial consideration; and repayment of the loan does not start until six months after graduation.

Form C, "Ruth Gosnell Education Fund Loan Application" can be downloaded at No e-mail applications will be accepted. Deadline for applications is March 1.

Information: 410-795-6152.

East Middle School marquee planned


The Westminster East Middle School PTA, in partnership with the Westminster High School Class of 1971, is raising money to build an art deco-style marquee in front of the school.

The Class of 1971 was the last class from Westminster High to graduate from the building that now houses East Middle.

Information: 410-751-5402.

Winters Mill trio named AP scholars

Three Winters Mill High School students have earned the AP scholar designation for their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement exams.

Kevin Jones, Samuel Loewner and Andrew Rapp each qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more exams with grades of 3 or higher.


College honors Sturm scholars

Carroll Community College's Division of Business and Management Information held a recognition ceremony for students who received the biannual L. Roland Sturm Scholars Award.

The business department also inducted seven students into the Alpha Beta Gamma Honor Society, an international business honor society.

Inductees were: Donna M. Chaney, Angel I. Hernandez, Jeremy Allen Hesselbein, Alison Justine Palmer, Janet D. Pope, Kevin Paul Schultz and Kayla M. Walsh.