Sen. Brochin holds strong lead

The Baltimore Sun

Democratic Sen. James Brochin, seeking re-election in a pivotal state legislative race, held a commanding lead last night in his contest with Republican challenger Douglas B. Riley.

Brochin's solid showing in the 42nd District was typical of incumbents from Baltimore County seeking re-election to the General Assembly. Virtually all office holders held leads.

The exceptions were the races for the three House of Delegates seats in the 8th District, which includes Perry Hall and Parkville, and in the House race in the 42nd District that includes Towson, where Republicans were fighting to retain their seats.

In the 8th District, Del. Eric M. Bromwell was among the top three in early returns - along with challengers and fellow Democrats Todd L. Schuler and Ruth Baisden.

Republican Del. Susan Aumann was among the top vote-getters, along with Democrats Stephen Lafferty and Tracy Miller in the 42nd District, which also includes Timonium and Lutherville. Incumbent Republican Del. William J. Frank closely trailed.

Brochin said he was happy to beat a popular, former two-term councilman. But, he said, "I think this is a referendum on a senator who thinks independently and who votes his conscience, regardless of party."

Riley said he was not ready concede with absentee ballots still to be counted. But he added, "It was clearly not a good year to run as a Republican. I think it largely came down to the general disenchantment of the Republican Party in Washington, D.C., which had an effect on all of these state and local races as well."

In northeastern Baltimore County, two-term incumbent Sen. Andrew P. Harris was leading in the 7th District, which stretches from Middle River to Cockeysville and includes part of Harford County. In that district's House races, Republican incumbent Dels. Richard K. Impallaria, J.B. Jennings and Patrick L. McDonough were leading.

Democratic incumbent Sen. Katherine A. Klausmeier was leading in the 8th District.

In eastern Baltimore County's 6th District, Sen. Norman R. Stone Jr. had a large lead. Democratic Dels. Joseph J. "Sonny" Minnick, Michael H. Weir Jr. and John A. Olszewski Jr. also led.

Del. Bobby A. Zirkin also had a large lead in the District 11 state Senate race, which includes Pikesville and Owings Mills. Democratic Dels. Jon S. Cardin and Dan K. Morhaim, along with Democrat Dana Stein, were leading. In District 12A, which includes Catonsville, Democratic Dels. James E. Malone Jr. and Steven J. DeBoy Sr. were leading.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad