Hongjun Song, an assistant professor of neurology at the Johns Hopkins Institute for Cell Engineering, was recently chosen for a McKnight Scholar Award by the McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience.


Song will receive $75,000 in research funding each year for the next three years to study how stem cells renew themselves, and how adult nerve stem cells become nerves.

McKnight awards are granted to young neuroscientists in the early stages of establishing their own independent laboratories.


Dr. Aaron Rapoport, an associate professor at the University of Maryland's Greene- baum Cancer Center, is one of five researchers to receive this year's Stohlman Scholar Award from the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, which recognizes outstanding contributions to blood cancer research.

Rapoport's studies focus on immunotherapy for chronic myelogenous leukemia and multiple myeloma patients undergoing autologous stem cell transplants. Rapoport is trying to determine whether T-cells from patients with CML and myeloma can be activated in the laboratory and returned to patients to help fight their disease. He is developing new post-transplant treatments combining activated T-cells and tumor vaccines.

Marie desJardins, an assistant professor of computer science and electrical engineering at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, has received a $300,000 National Science Foundation award to pursue an investigation titled "Organizational Adaptation in Artificial Agent Societies."

DesJardins is a specialist in artificial intelligence who focuses on machine learning, planning, multi-agent systems, interactive artificial intelligence techniques, information management, uncertainty and decision theory.

Paula Daniels Wadley, director of ancillary services at Anne Arundel Medical Center and interim executive director of medicine, has received the TWIN Award, presented by the YWCA to outstanding professional women who are on corporate management teams. The acronym stands for Tribute to Women and Industry.

Wadley is a registered respiratory therapist with a master's degree in information management. She has received several honors, including a gubernatorial appointment on the State Advisory Council on Physical Fitness under both Govs. Parris N. Glendening and Robert L. Ehrlich Jr., as well as the Maryland/D.C. Society Recognition for Leadership Award.

Dr. Marcella Roenneburg, a urogynecologist at Mercy Medical Center, has been selected as one of 10 Jewish Women to Watch in 2006.

Roenneburg was honored for her travels to Africa and Bangladesh through various medical foundations to treat women and train local doctors in repairing injuries that cause incontinence and other gynecologic problems. Roenneburg is a fellow of the American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists and member of the American Urogynecologic Society, Society of Gynecologic Surgeons and Maryland Obstetric and Gynecology Society.



The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases recently awarded a four-year, $1.8 million grant to Dr. C. David Pauza, a professor at the University of Maryland's Institute of Human Virology in Baltimore.

The grant, "Mechanisms for SIV Evasion of Vaccine Immunity: Role of FasL-Mediated Cell Death," will be directed at studying how HIV, the virus that causes AIDS, has been able to evade vaccine protection. The study could help lead to effective HIV vaccines.