Two alums named McDaniel trustees

Alumni Otto J. Guenther and Sherry F. Manning recently were named to the McDaniel College board of trustees.

Guenther is vice president and general manager of Northrop Grumman Mission Systems Tactical Systems Division.

Manning is founder and chief executive officer of ECCI, a provider of telecommunication solutions for higher education institutions.

Re-elected to a three-year term are Richard D. Adams, William B. Dulany, Mary Lynn Durham, William H. Elliott, Jerome H. Fader, Kevin F. Hanley, Steven D. Kesler, James I. Melhorn, Albert J. Mezzanotte Jr., Carol S. Parham, R. Christine Royer, Dolores J. Snyder and Michael J. Weinblatt.

Elected at-large members to the executive committee for one year are Dulany, Mezzanotte, Charles E. Moore Jr. and Parham. M. Lee Rice was elected trustee emeritus.

Board officers include Melhorn, chair; Martin K.P. Hill, vice chair; Mary Ann Friday, secretary; and Susan J. Cullison, assistant secretary.

Joan Develin Coley was re-elected college president.

Business, nursing faculty are hired

Carroll Community College recently welcomed two new faculty members.

Barbara Burke is coordinator of customized business training. She has a bachelor's degree from Indiana University and more than 21 years of experience in the financial services industry.

Julia Hymer is an assistant professor of nursing. She has been in clinical nursing for 11 years, specializing in cardiac care, intensive care and interventional radiology.

Lutheran Village leader honored

Carroll Community College recently honored president and chief executive officer of Carroll Lutheran Village Geary K. Milliken for his efforts in providing training for employees and enrichment activities for residents.

Milliken was presented with the Distinguished Partner in Lifelong Learning Award.

Carroll Lutheran Village and the college have been educational partners for more than 20 years.

First-grader wins poster contest

Dawson Okutman, a first-grader at Friendship Valley Elementary School, was a winner in the sixth annual poster contest sponsored by the Maryland Council on Economic Education.

His illustration will appear in the 2006-2007 Economics Concepts Calendar to be printed this summer.

Auto center earns certification

The automotive program at the Carroll County Career and Technology Center has received certification by the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation and the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence.

The Tech Center's automotive program has been certified in brakes, electrical electronic systems, engine performance, and suspension and steering. The automotive program will remain certified until April 2011.

Cadet serves at leadership event

Cadet 1st Lt. Joshua Utz, a sophomore at Winters Mill High School, recently served as an ambassador at the 28th annual 2006 Maryland Hugh O'Brien Youth Leadership Seminar.

As a leader of the Winters Mill JROTC Program, Utz was chosen based upon the leadership he exhibits in the program, his academic classes and on several interscholastic teams.

Utz also received special recognition in the essay contest held during the conference.

Student government doles out awards

The Student Government Organization of Carroll Community College recently recognized the achievements of students, advisers and organizations.

The Health and Wellness Club, Carroll Association for the Education of Young Children, Campus Activities Board and the Photography Club received awards.

Students Amanda Mitten, Melissa Willen and Phil Harris received awards.

Faculty member Sarah Sayre, student organization adviser, also received an award.

In addition, 29 students were selected as national outstanding campus leaders in Who's Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges.

Credit union awards scholarships

First Financial of Maryland Federal Credit Union recently awarded $5,000 scholarships to three Carroll County outstanding high school seniors within their membership.

The scholarships were awarded based on academic excellence and commitment to school and community.

Carroll recipients were Jessica Dunn and Amy Meros, Liberty High; and Ashley Taylor, Westminster High.

First Financial of Maryland Federal Credit Union is the credit union for the Baltimore and Carroll County public school systems.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad