Harford history


1774: Bush Resolutions

In 1774, the British Parliament responded to the Boston Tea Party by enacting a series of laws that soon came to be called the"Coercive Acts." Intended to reprimand the colonists for tossing 342 chests of tea into the harbor, the acts triggered tensions from Massachusetts to Georgia.

On June 11, 1774, Col. Aquila Hall rallied more than 1,000 Harford County citizens at Bush, then the county seat. Colonel Hall set forth the seven resolutions that would ultimately unite the 13 colonies in a common cause for rights and liberties.

The resolutions passed at Bush, and Harford County entered the political arena. Ten days later at the Annapolis Convention, the Coercive Acts were declared cruel and oppressive, stirring Maryland and all the colonists into the throes of the Revolutionary War. Bush remained the county seat for nine years and was the site of the Bush Declaration in 1775, the first Declaration of Independence ever adopted by an organized body of men elected by the people.

[Our Harford Heritage by C. Milton Wright; Revolutionary Harford Part II, by J.E. Bull. Research by Harford County Public Library]

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad