Don’t miss the Carroll County home show this weekend!




Scott Swinson


With his work on the mound and at the plate, Swinson led the Eagles to a perfect regular season and the Howard County championship. Headed to George Washington University, the senior right-hander went 7-1 with an 0.70 ERA and 52 strikeouts in 55 innings.

His only loss came in the Class 3A East regional final to eventual state champion James M. Bennett. Playing shortstop when he wasn't pitching, Swinson batted .390 with two doubles, three triples, 14 RBIs and 21 runs scored.


Denis Ahearn


Ahearn led the Eagles (22-1) to the first undefeated regular season (20-0) in Howard County baseball history and the Class 3A East regional final after a disappointing 2005 season.

After leading Centennial to a state title and the No. 1 ranking in 2004, the Eagles, who were expected to repeat last season, fell short at 14-7. Ahearn kept the team focused from the start this spring, and the Eagles got off to an 11-0 start and were ranked No. 1 until their playoff loss. Ahearn is 70-17 (.805) with three county titles.

First team

Name School Class Position

Austin Drewyer River Hill Senior Pitcher

Drew Permison Oakland Mills Junior Pitcher

Scott Swinson Centennial Senior Pitcher

Brad Shepherd Oakland Mills Junior Catcher

Kevin Carlson Wilde Lake Junior First base

Andrew Matsunaga River Hill Senior Second base

Austin Harclerode Centennial Junior Third base

Steve Lombardozzi Atholton Junior Shortstop

Brady Baxter Mt. Hebron Junior Outfield

Alex Bechta Centennial Junior Outfield

Ben Winter Centennial Soph. Outfield

Ryan Masters Howard Senior Des. hitter

Second team

Name School Class Position

Dave Lanier Atholton Senior Pitcher

Tim O'Connor Howard Senior Pitcher

Ryan Miller Centennial Senior Catcher

Joe Couch Centennial Fr. First base

Matt Bryan Atholton Junior Second base

Will Miller River Hill Senior Third base

Cooper Brown Hammond Senior Shortstop

Jake Anderson Glenelg Junior Outfield

Matt Hein Centennial Junior Outfield

Bobby Kunlo Hammond Junior Outfield

Brett McQuilkin Atholton Junior Outfield

Jeff Walker Mt. Hebron Senior Des. hitter

Note -- Teams selected by Pat O'Malley after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad