Capital Gazette wins special Pulitzer Prize citation for coverage of newsroom shooting that killed five




Tyler Hibbs


This sophomore set a county record for wins in a season (13), with his last four victories coming in the postseason, as he led the top-ranked Wildcats to the Class 4A state title. Hibbs threw four innings in relief with nine strikeouts to post a 5-3 victory over C. Milton Wright in the state final.

A repeat All-County selection, Hibbs was 13-1 with a 1.20 ERA and has 18 wins in two seasons. Hibbs played third base when he wasn't pitching and batted .424 (42-for-99) with 25 runs scored, 28 RBIs and a team-leading 17 doubles.


Bernie Walter


Walter repeats as county Coach of the Year after leading the Wildcats to an unprecedented 10th state championship and The Sun's No. 1 ranking at 23-3. A 5-3 victory over C. Milton Wright in the Class 4A state final at Ripken Stadium followed another Maryland record by the Wildcats - a 15th regional title.

Arundel avenged a 10-9 loss to Quince Orchard in the 2005 final by downing the Cougars, 9-4, in this year's state semifinals and ending their 31-game winning streak over two seasons. Walter, the state's all-time winningest baseball coach, is 566-164 (.775) in 33 seasons.

First team

Name School Class Position

Tyler Hibbs Arundel Soph. Pitcher

Chris Moore Chesapeake Senior Pitcher

Rich Porohnavi Northeast Senior Catcher

Chris Huisman Spalding Senior First base

Tom Van Horn Annapolis Senior Second base

Sam Sheckells Severna Park Senior Third base

Jeff Kemp Spalding Soph. Shortstop

Bryan Woolford Northeast Senior Shortstop

Jason Daniels Arundel Junior Outfield

Derek Harris Old Mill Senior Outfield

Corey Overholtzer Arundel Senior Outfield

Shawn Pleffner Arundel Junior Des. hitter

Second team

Name School Class Position

Greg Glod Broadneck Senior Pitcher

Jason Patten Spalding Soph. Pitcher

Joel Roberts Arundel Senior Pitcher

Greg Zingler Severna Park Senior Catcher

Sean Rohrs Broadneck Senior First base

Corey Jensen Severna Park Soph. Second base

Jim Parreira Broadneck Senior Third base

Chris Holland Chesapeake Senior Shortstop

Lee Anarino North County Junior Outfield

Mike Bafford North County Senior Outfield

Greg Sneeringer Spalding Senior Outfield

Zach Moore Chesapeake Senior Des. hitter

Note -- Teams selected by Pat O'Malley after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad