THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!




Katie McCauley

C. Milton Wright

McCauley, a catcher, helped the Mustangs win their first state title since 1985, as they defeated Chesapeake of Anne Arundel County in the Class 4A state final.

She finished with a .518 average, 35 RBIs, 30 runs, five doubles, three triples and seven home runs, striking out just once all season. McCauley had 44 hits, a school single-season record. She will play softball next year at Coker College, a Division II school in South Carolina.


Fred Morngan

Harford Tech

Morngan guided the Cobras to the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference title with a 3-2 upset of eventual Class 4A state champion C. Milton Wright. In Morngan's first season coaching varsity, the Cobras won the Susquehanna Division and finished with a 14-4 record.

The Cobras defeated county foes C. Milton Wright and Fallston, and Northeast and Elkton of Cecil County for the first time in school history. Last year, Morngan coached the junior varsity to its first winning record in school history.

First team

Name School Class Position

Angela DiBeneditto John Carroll Junior Pitcher

Chelsea Funk C.M. Wright Junior Pitcher

Nicole Lowenstein John Carroll Soph. Catcher

Katie McCauley C.M. Wright Senior Catcher

Kaela Mason Harford Tech Soph. Infield

Kaitlyn Neal C.M. Wright Senior Infield

Jessica Vandzwolek Fallston Junior Infield

Lisa Bilsky Fallston Soph. Outfield

Julia Culotta N. Harford Senior Outfield

Cynthia Foster C.M. Wright Senior Outfield

Katie Kolb C.M. Wright Senior Outfield

Gabby Long Bel Air Senior Outfield

Second team

Name School Class Position

Katie Boyce Bel Air Junior Pitcher

Megan Gravell Fallston Soph. Pitcher

Becca Roehmer N. Harford Senior Pitcher

Lauren Peterson Harford Tech Senior Catcher

Samantha Golley N. Harford Junior Infield

Bridgette Jester John Carroll Senior Infield

Allison Kuchar C.M. Wright Soph. Infield

Kayla Melamed Fallston Senior Infield

Ashley Schmidt N. Harford Senior Infield

Nikki Hartner C.M. Wright Junior Outfield

Melissa Mendoza Harford Tech Senior Outfield

Mary-Kate Smith John Carroll Fresh. Outfield

Note -- Teams selected by Mary Beth Kozak after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad