Bryn Holmes


The Sun's No. 1-ranked 152-pounder proved he was not only among the state's best, but also among the premier wrestlers in the country, winning his third straight Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association and Maryland Independent Schools state titles, along with his second consecutive crown at the National Prep Wrestling Championships.

The senior went 46-2 with 31 pins, raising his career totals to 162-19 with 114 career falls. For the second straight year, Holmes capped his season by earning Outstanding Wrestler honors at the National Prep tournament.

COACH of the year

Ron Causey


In only his second year, Causey led the Bulls to titles in the Baltimore County 2A-1A dual meets and tournament, as well as in the 2A-1A North regional duals and tournament. Hereford went 17-1 in dual meets, finishing as state dual runner-up to repeat champion Hammond.

The Bulls won the county tournament with a record 234 points, and took the regional tournament by qualifying a school-record 11 wrestlers for the Class 2A-1A state tournament.

First team

Weight Name School Class

103 Eric Filipowicz McDonogh Fresh.

112 Josh Fitch McDonogh Soph.

119 Albert Woody McDonogh Fresh.

125 Ben Levin McDonogh Soph.

130 Curtis Holmes McDonogh Fresh.

130 Tony Mack Owings Mills Soph.

135 Shane Milam McDonogh Fresh.

140 Joe Breen McDonogh Senior

145 Josh Asper Hereford Soph.

152 Bryn Holmes McDonogh Senior

160 Grady Gamble Boys' Latin Junior

160 Ben McCree Owings Mills Junior

171 Alex Pagnotta McDonogh Fresh.

189 Razzaq Muhammad Park ville Senior

215 Evan Pritchett Sparrows Pt. Senior

275 Doug Schenk McDonogh Soph.

Second Team

Weight Name School Class

103 Ben Baker Pi kesville Fresh.

103 Nik Gialamis Calvert Hall Soph.

112 Jeremy Keil Hereford Soph.

112 Cody Rosen-Stone Owings Mills Soph.

119 Josh Harrison Kenwood Junior

130 Rob Mister Loyola Senior

135 Matt Jacobs Dulaney Junior

140 James Davies Loyola Senior

145 Jerry Lipscomb Lansdowne Senior

145 Kramer Whitelaw McDon ogh Junior

152 Bobby Fouts Hereford Senior

160 Jariel Waters Woodlawn Senior

171 Dan Peters-Rodbell Loyola Senior

189 Jesse Headley Franklin Senior

215 Kyle O'Brien McDonogh Senior

275 Alex Harper Woodlawn Junior

Note -- Teams were se lected by Lem Satterfield after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad