Don’t miss Orioles players, John Means & Paul Fry, as they guest host at our Brews and O’s event!



Herbert C. Buchanan Jr., a Chicago hospital executive with a background in health care administration and engineering, has been named senior vice president and chief operating officer of the University of Maryland Medical Center in Baltimore.

He comes from Northwestern Memorial Hospital, where he served as vice president for operations since 2001.

A native of Maryland, Buchanan grew up in Prince George's County, earned a degree in mechanical engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, a master's in mechanical engineering from the University of Michigan, and a master's in hospital and health service management from the Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University.

Buchanan served for seven years as the vice president of operations and process improvement at the Huntsville, Ala., Hospital System before joining Northwestern Memorial.

Carol Esche and Gail Lemaire, assistant professors at the University of Maryland School of Nursing,have been appointed co-directors of the institution's clinical nurse leader master's program.

The program, the first in Maryland, was launched as part of an initiative by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing to improve the quality of patient care and to better prepare nurses to assume effective leadership roles. William Guggino, professor of physiology and pediatrics at the Johns Hopkins Institute for Basic Biomedical Sciences, will receive the 2006 Doris F. Tulcin Cystic Fibrosis Research Award.

The award, established in 1986 by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and administered by the University of Alabama-Birmingham (UAB), is given annually to the nation's outstanding cystic fibrosis scientist.

Guggino was selected for his research into the cellular physiology of cystic fibrosis and in therapeutic interventions, according to Dr. Eric Sorscher, director of UAB's Gregory Fleming James Cystic Fibrosis Research Center. There will be a reception banquet at UAB on Jan. 31.

Dr. Kathryn Wagner, an assistant professor of neurology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, will co-direct one of three new Sen. Paul D. Wellstone Muscular Dystrophy Cooperative Research Centers with H. Lee Sweeney of the University of Pennsylvania.

The center, which has its headquarters at Penn,includes researchers at Hopkins, the University of Florida-Gainesville, and the National Institute on Neurological Disorders and Stroke. The federally funded center will focus on exploring new strategies for treating muscular dystrophies.

Wagner, who joined the Hopkins faculty in 2000, specializes in neuromuscular and neurogenetic diseases, with an emphasis on hereditary muscle diseases.

Dr. Linda Fried, professor of medicine and epidemiology and director of the Division of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology at Johns Hopkins,has received the Irving Wright Award of Distinction, the highest honor awarded by American Federation for Aging.

The group noted Fried's "exceptional contributions to basic and clinical research or to the encouragement of such research in the field of aging."

A longtime specialist in the science of aging, Fried is known for her research in the etiology, prevention and treatment of frailty and disability. She is also co-founder of Experience Corps, a program that places teams of older adults in urban public schools as tutors and mentors.

Kit H.Bowen, a professor in the Department of Chemistry at the Johns Hopkins University, has been named Maryland Chemist of the Year for 2005 by the American Chemical Society's Maryland section.

A resident of Roland Park, Bowen has served on the faculty of the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences at Johns Hopkins since 1980. He earned a degree in chemistry at the University of Mississippi in 1970 and his Ph.D. at Harvard University in 1978. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the recipient of a senior Humboldt Research Award.

Bowen, whose research focuses on clusters and nanoparticles,was cited for his pioneering studies of how atoms and molecules are held together.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad