ASTROS: Recalled OF Luke Scott from Triple-A Round Rock.

ATHLETICS: Recalled IF-OF Freddie Bynum from Triple-A Sacramento. Optioned P Ron Flores to Sacramento.

CUBS: Acquired P Todd Blackford and P Angelo Burrows from Braves for OF Todd Hollandsworth.

INDIANS: Recalled P Kyle Denney from Triple-A Buffalo and placed him on 60-day DL with post-concussion symptoms and skull fracture.

MARLINS: Placed P John Riedling on 15-day DL with tendinitis in right shouder. Recalled P Cris Resop from Double-A Carolina.

PADRES: Placed P Pedro Astacio on 15-day DL with strained right quadriceps. Recalled OF Ben Johnson from Triple-A Portland.

RED SOX: Claimed P Chad Harville off waivers from Astros.

TWINS: Recalled RHP Scott Baker from Triple-A Rochester. Optioned IF Luis Rodriguez to Rochester.

WHITE SOX: Activated OF Scott Podsednik from 15-day DL. Recalled P Jeff Bajenaru from Triple-A Charlotte. Optioned P Jon Adkins and OF Brian Anderson to Charlotte.


BUCKS: Signed C Ervin Johnson, who had been with Timberwolves, to one-year contract.

LAKERS: Named Frank Hamblen, Kurt Rambis and Brian Shaw assistant coaches.

SPURS: Signed G Nick Van Exel, who had been with Trail Blazers.


CAL STATE-BAKERSFIELD: Announced that it intends to upgrade its sports programs to Division I.

TEMPLE: Announced that baseball coach James Wilson is retiring.


BRONCOS: Waived RB Maurice Clarett, QB Danny Kanell, DL Luther Elliss and DL Raylee Johnson.

CARDINALS: Released LB Isaiah Ekejiuba, CB Rhett Nelson, S Ifeanyi Ohalete, T Alan Reuber, DT Keith Wright and DE Peppi Zellner. Placed C Bill Conaty, DT Kenny King and RB J.R. Redmond on IR.

CHIEFS: Released LB Quinton Caver, RB Samkon Gado, C Mike Johnson, DE Darius Jones, TE Mike Kallfelz and CB Justin Perkins.

COWBOYS: Waived CB Lenny Williams and WR Reggie Harrell.

DOLPHINS: Traded LB Brendon Ayanbadejo to Bears for TE John Owens and conditional draft pick. Released G Frank Middleton.

GIANTS: Waived S Jack Brewer, former Ravens CB Lamont Brightful, DT Ahmad Childress, OL Greg Walker, OL Jason Hilliard, OL Andy Tidwell-Neal, CB Michael Bragg, DL Davern Williams, DL Bret Eddins, RB Mike Jemison, FB Luke Lawton, LB Joseph Scott, LB Russ Rabe, WR Zuriel Smith, TE Wade Fletcher and S Diamond Ferri.

JETS: Signed DE John Abraham to one-year contract.

PATRIOTS: Released QB Rohan Davey, RB Cedric Cobbs and S Dexter Reid.

RAIDERS: Placed LB Sam Williams on IR. Waived P Bryce Benekos, RB Leonard Henry, T Pete McMahon, QB David Rivers, LB Maugaula Tuitele and CB Brock Williams.

RAVENS: Released WR Fred Stamps, WR Curtis Williams, K Rhys Lloyd, K Owen Pochman, DL Tron LaFavor, DL Walter Curry, RB Keith Burnell, TE Rob Abiamiri, S Jarvis Johnson, LB Steve Josue, CB Bill Alford, OT Lester Brown and OT Marques Ogden.

REDSKINS: Released TE Billy Baber, DB Charles Byrd, K Jeff Chandler, RB Jonathan Combs, RB Brock Forsey, WR Steven Harris, DL Charles Howard, WR Darnerien McCants, LB Jared Newberry, DL Jerome Nichols, LB Clifton Smith, QB Bryson Spinner and OL Josh Warner.

SEAHAWKS: Released DE Antonio Cochran, DE Otis Leverette, S Jamaal Brimmer, S Terry Holley, S Junior Rosegreen, DL Ron Smith, DL Ronald Flemons, G Steven Gibbs, G Matt Miller, TE Calen Powell, C Tim Galloway, RB Dante Brown, WR Marque Davis and WR Jason Willis. Acquired DE Alain Kashama from Bears for future draft pick.

STEELERS: Waived TE Matt Cushing, WR Chris Doering, OT Josh Burr, WR Zamir Cobb, DB Vontez Duff, C Joe Iorio, T Morgan Davis, G Jake Verstraete, K Shaun Suisham and WR Walter Young.

TEXANS: Released TE Billy Miller, WR LaTarence Dunbar, WR Kevin Kasper, WR Devin Pitts and WR Kendrick Starling, DE Corey Sears, DE Carlos Williams, LB D.D. Acholonu, RB Jason Anderson, OT Chris Johnson, LB Quincy Monk and CB Cedrick Williams.

TITANS: Waived QB Shane Boyd, K Jay Taylor, G Mike Erickson, DT Joe Minucci, DE Shawn Johnson, DE Todd Bates, LB Travis Harris, CB Antoine Harris, WR Adrian Madise and WR Vincent Cartwright.

VIKINGS: Placed S Dustin Fox on IR. Released WR Daryl Jones, WR Siaha Burley, S Ben Nelson, S Rushen Jones, LB Maurice Jones, C Kyle Schmitt (Maryland), DT Eric Coleman, DT David Harley and T Rian Melander.


BLUE JACKETS: Signed RW Alexandre Picard and G Tomas Popperle.

PENGUINS: Re-signed D Dick Tarnstrom to one-year contract.

PREDATORS: Re-signed F Martin Erat.


NATIONAL HALL OF FAME: Inducted former U.S. national team members John Harkes, Tab Ramos and Marcelo Balboa.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad