Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!





CUBS: Activated P Kerry Wood from 15-day DL. Designated P Joe Borowski for assignment.

TWINS: Placed IF Glenn Williams on 15-day DL with dislocated right shoulder.

YANKEES: Recalled P Jason Anderson from Triple-A Columbus. Optioned OF Kevin Reese to Columbus.


CLIPPERS: Waived C Mamadou N'Diaye.

HEAT: Exercised option on contract of F Qyntel Woods for 2005-06 season.

NETS: Exercised contract option of G Jacque Vaughn for 2005-06 season.

SUNS: Traded F-C Marcin Gortat to Magic for future considerations. Named Dan D'Antoni assistant coach.

WIZARDS: Extended qualifying offers to F Kwame Brown and G Steve Blake.


BRODERICK CUP: Awarded to Stanford volleyball player Ogonna Nnamani as nation's collegiate woman athlete of year.

BUCKNELL: Signed men's basketball coach Pat Flannery to four-year contract extension.

DAYTON: Named Bob Beyer men's assistant basketball coach, effective July 1. Announced the resignation of director of basketball operations Jon Borovich to become men's assistant basketball coach at Oakland (Mich.)

LOYOLA: Signed G Siobhan Prior to play women's basketball.

MICHIGAN STATE: Announced WR Agim Shabaj has been declared academically ineligible for 2005 season.

OHIO: Named Kirby Hocutt AD, effective Aug. 22.


PREDATORS: Named Steve Violetta executive VP of business affairs.

SENATORS: Signed GM John Muckler to three-year contract extension. Named Scott Allegrino equipment manager and Andy Playter assistant athletic therapist.

STARS: Reached affiliate agreement with ECHL Idaho Steelheads.


BAYHAWKS: G Trevor Tierney was named MLL Defensive Player of Week.

Pro basketball

NBA draft

No. 1 selections since 1980

2005: Andrew Bogut, Milwaukee, C, Utah

2004: Dwight Howard, Orlando, F, Southwest Atlantic Christian Academy (Atlanta)

2003: LeBron James, Cleveland, G, St. Vincent-St. Mary HS

2002: Yao Ming, Houston, C, China

2001: Kwame Brown, Washington, F-C, Glynn Academy HS

2000: Kenyon Martin, New Jersey, F, Cincinnati

1999: Elton Brand, Chicago, F, Duke

1998: Michael Olowokandi, L.A. Clippers, C, Pacific

1997: Tim Duncan, San Antonio, C, Wake Forest

1996: Allen Iverson, Philadelphia, G, Georgetown

1995: Joe Smith, Golden State, C, Maryland

1994: Glenn Robinson, Milwaukee, F, Purdue

1993: Chris Webber, Orlando, F, Michigan

1992: Shaquille O'Neal, Orlando, C, Louisiana State

1991: Larry Johnson, Charlotte, F, UNLV

1990: Derrick Coleman, New Jersey, F, Syracuse

1989: Pervis Ellison, Sacramento, C, Louisville

1988: Danny Manning, L.A. Clippers, F, Kansas

1987: David Robinson, San Antonio, C, Navy

1986: Brad Daugherty, Cleveland, C, North Carolina

1985: Patrick Ewing, New York, C, Georgetown

1984: Akeem Olajuwon, Houston, C, Houston

1983: Ralph Sampson, Houston, C, Virginia

1982: James Worthy, L.A. Lakers, F, North Carolina

1981: Mark Aguirre, Dallas, F, DePaul

1980: Joe Barry Carroll, Golden State, C, Purdue

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad