Don’t miss Orioles players, John Means & Paul Fry, as they guest host at our Brews and O’s event!



Player of the Year

Brennan Kelly, McDonogh

Coach Jake Reed called Kelly "the best defenseman I've ever coached." Kelly, a repeat All-Metro player bound for Georgetown, was an intimidating force and a smart player whose running clears often jump-started the transition.

Considered the state's best overall player, Kelly was named The C. Markland Kelly Award winner. He ranked second on the team with 92 ground balls and was the Eagles' team captain.

Coach of the Year

Jake Reed, McDonogh

The Eagles had their share of adversity to deal with, including the death of a former teammate and the news that Reed would not be returning next year for his 14th season.

But Reed was able to keep the Eagles focused. They responded by dedicating their season to the fallen player and their coach, going a school-record 22-1, earning their second MIAA A Conference crown in Reed's tenure and a No. 1 national ranking.

First team

Name School Cl Pos

Chris Boland Boys' Latin Jr. A

Gavin Gill St. Paul's Sr. A

Ryan Hoff Dulaney Sr. A

Mike Kimmel Loyola Jr. A

Phil Blevins Calvert Hall Sr. M

Jimmy Daly McDonogh Sr. M

Bryn Holmes McDonogh Jr. M

Brady Smith Loyola Sr. M

Billy Geist McDonogh Jr. D

Brennan Kelly McDonogh Sr. D

Scott Matthews Boys' Latin Sr. D

Jeremy Blevins Calvert Hall Sr. G

Second team

Name School Cl. P

Eric Gurnsey Catonsville Sr. A

Travis Reed McDonogh So. A

Tad Stanwick Boys' Latin Sr. A

Bart Wagner St. Paul's Sr. A

Perry Menzies Hereford Sr. M

Mitchell Rosensweig Pikesville Sr. M

Tim Skeen Towson Sr. M

Shane Walterhoefer Boys' Latin Sr. M

Scott Bogdan Loyola Sr. D

Mike Dembert Park Sr. D

Jon Mark Towson Sr. D

Joe Pike McDonogh Sr. G

Note: Teams selected by Lem Satterfield after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad