Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!



Performer of the Year

Alyssa Evering, Fallston

No longer a surprise, the senior blossomed into a well-rounded athlete. Not only did Evering capture the 100 in 12.27 seconds and the 200 in 25.48 -- two events that she owned last year -- at the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference championships, but she also added crowns in the 400 (57.40) and triple jump (33 feet, 4 inches).

Evering nearly went 4-for-4 at the Class 3A North regional meet, taking the 100 (11.7), 200 (23.8) and triple jump (35-9 1/2 ) and placing second in the 200. At the state championships, she walked away with gold medals in the 100 (12.19) and triple jump (36-3).

Coach of the Year

Jimmy Grant, Fallston

Fresh off a winter campaign that concluded with the school's first Class 3A-2A state crown in indoor track, the Cougars experienced similar success this spring.

After falling to C. Milton Wright at the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference Chesapeake Division meet, Fallston rebounded to win at the UCBAC championships and the Class 3A North regional meet, upending perennial powerhouse and No. 1 Western in the process. The No. 4 Cougars finished third to Western and No. 2 Long Reach at the state meet.

The team

Name School Cl

Sara Bailey C. Milton Wright Fr.

Danyelle Barnes Aberdeen So.

Kristin Baxivanos Fallston Jr.

Kelli Buck C. Milton Wright Sr.

Katie Dilworth Fallston Sr.

Alyssa Evering Fallston Sr.

Jen Jones John Carroll Sr.

Lindsay Ludwig C. Milton Wright Fr.

Jessica O'Brien John Carroll Jr.

Megan Ravenscraft C. Milton Wright Jr.

Emily Saltsman Fallston Sr.

Shanelle Shivers Aberdeen So.

Linsey Vollmer Fallston Jr.

Dana Welsch Fallston Sr.

Note: Teams selected by Edward Lee after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad