Performer of the Year

Matthew Centrowitz, Broadneck

The sophomore extended the family's success in long-distance events. Up until the Class 4A state championships, Centrowitz went undefeated in the 3,200-meter run.

Centrowitz, whose sister Lauren was a standout for the girls team before graduating last year, won the event at the Bob Golliday Invitational in 9 minutes, 31.2 seconds, at the county championships in 9:36.8 and at the Class 4A East regional meet in 9:40.5.

Centrowitz, who also ran a leg of the winning 3,200-relay squad at the county and regional championships, posted a time of 9:23.30 in the 3,200 at the state meet, finishing second to Walter Johnson's Andrew Jesien. Centrowitz's time is the fastest posted by a metro area athlete this spring.

Coach of the Year

Janet Liimatta, Old Mill

The Patriots were unable to retain the Class 4A state crown they earned last spring, but they continued their dominance of the area.

Old Mill captured its fifth consecutive county title and 21st since 1977, and its fourth regional championship in the past five years and 20th since 1981. The Patriots went wire-to-wire as The Sun's top-ranked team this spring.

The team

Name School Cl

Chris Bryant Old Mill Sr.

Ethan Burney Old Mill Sr.

Ryan Callahan Old Mill Jr.

Matthew Centrowitz Broadneck So.

Terrell Ingram Old Mill Sr.

Isiah Johnson Old Mill Sr.

Matt Llano Broadneck Jr.

Terry Marshall Meade Sr.

James Mildenberger Chesapeake Sr.

Troy Norton South River Sr.

Kyle Rauser Old Mill Sr.

Devin Regan Broadneck Sr.

Frank Scheerer Chesapeake Sr.

Cedric Zellner Arch. Spalding Sr.

Note: Teams selected by Edward Lee after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad