Don’t miss Orioles players, John Means & Paul Fry, as they guest host at our Brews and O’s event!



Player of the Year

Brandon Roane, Poly

The senior first baseman's slugging led the Engineers (18-2) to a fifth consecutive Baltimore City A Conference title under first-year coach Corey Goodwin.

Roane batted .562 with four homers, 13 doubles, seven triples and 30 RBIs. He is headed to Duke on an academic scholarship.

Coach of the Year

Marty Meloy, Gilman

In his 20th season as coach of the Greyhounds, Meloy guided his team to a surprising third-place finish in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference.

The veteran coach turned last season's 10-13 (overall) and 8-12 (league) team into a 15-7, 14-6 team this season. Meloy, who led the Greyhounds to an MIAA A Conference title in 1996 with a school record for wins (18-4), blended good pitching with good defense in leading the Greyhounds to their best season since then.

First team

Name School Cl Pos

Wes Donehower Gilman Sr. P

Dave Parks Mt.St.Joseph Sr. P

Joe Sanford Southwestern Sr. P

David Watkins Poly Sr. C

Brandon Roane Poly Sr. 1B

Joe Norton Mt.St.Joseph Sr. 2B

Peter Blue Gilman Sr. 3B

Tim Rappazzo Gilman Jr. SS

Andrew Black Friends Jr. OF

Ryan McDonald Mt.St.Joseph Jr. OF

Matt Staso Mt.St.Joseph Sr. OF

Mike Chase Arch. Curley Jr. DH

Second team

Name School Cl Pos

Jason Kaiser Arch. Curley Sr. P

Dave Zappacosta Mt.St.Joseph Sr. P

Bill Burgamy Arch. Curley Sr. C

Mike Grace Gibbons Sr. 1B

Paul Stack Gilman Sr. 2B

Brandon Krochune Digital Harbor Sr. 3B

Alex Marks Gibbons Sr. 3B

Nick Natoli Mt.St.Joseph So. SS

Tim Crawford Gibbons Sr. OF

Matt Katuna Poly Jr. OF

Shawn Logan Edmondson Sr. OF

John Gibbon Arch. Curley Sr. DH

Note: Teams selected by Pat O'Malley after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad