Baltimore Sun’s BEST party in 2 weeks



Player of the Year

Julia Culotta, North Harford

Culotta, a junior, was probably the most dangerous hitter in the county, finishing with a .554 batting average and eight home runs.

The respect she was given by opposing pitchers was apparent, as she was issued 15 intentional walks.

Coach of the Year

Joe Dunch, C.M. Wright

Dunch guided the Mustangs to the Class 3A state title game, and the bad news for other Harford County foes is that C. Milton Wright may be getting better.

Dunch molded a young team into one that captured the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference and regional titles before losing in the state final.

The Mustangs get their whole starting lineup back next year along with a number of underclassmen who filled in.

First team

Name School Cl Pos

Angela DiBenditto John Carroll So. P

Cynthia Foster C.M. Wright So. P

Chelsea Funk C.M. Wright So. P

Becca Roehmer North Harford Jr. P

Nicole Loewenstein John Carroll Fr. C

Lindsey Mueller Fallston Sr. C

Jess Bandzewolek Fallston So. IF

Sarah Dixon North Harford Sr. IF

Allison Kuchar C. M. Wright Fr. IF

Gabby Long Bel Air Jr. IF

Caitlyn Neal C.M. Wright Jr. IF

Julia Culotta North Harford Jr. OF

Second team

Name School Cl Pos

Katy Allers Havre de Grace Sr. P

Shanay Jones Edgewood Sr. P

Katie McCauley C.M. Wright Jr. C

Lisa West C.M. Wright So. 1B

Toni Onufrak North Harford Sr. 2B

Sarah Dixon North Harford Sr. 3B

Kaitlin Doody Fallston Sr. OF

Kasey Gayhardt John Carroll Jr. OF

Amanda Knight C.M. Wright Jr. OF

Caitlin Stein Fallston Sr. OF

Jessica Cornett Havre de Grace Jr. UT

Jenny Morrill C.M. Wright Jr. UT

Note: Teams selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad