Player of the Year

Allison Perkins, St. Mary's

A first-year starter, the junior midfielder showed an early penchant for dishing out assists that didn't stop until the Saints captured the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A1 Conference crown.

Fittingly, Perkins' 106th and final assist of the year helped produce the game-winning goal that lifted the Saints past Severn, 7-6, in the conference final.

She finished with 20 goals, collected 27 ground balls and caused eight turnovers.

Coach of the Year

Sue Chittim, St. Mary's

The Saints' third-year coach had a good idea from the start of the team's fine talent, but it was largely inexperienced after 14 players graduated from the year before.

Chittim was quickly able to assess the players' strengths, put them in the right places and add some new twists.

First team

Name School Cl Pos

Bretton Bathras Severn Jr. A

Cara Cerone Annapolis Sr. A

Jill Hodges South River Jr. A

Samantha Schrum St. Mary's Jr. A

Anastasia Adam Severn Jr. M

Lizzy Burke Severna Park Sr. M

Ali Flury Broadneck Jr. M

Jessie Heisterman Broadneck Jr. M

Bridget Noon St. Mary's Sr. M

Allison Perkins St. Mary's Jr. M

Amanda Spinnenweber Chesapeake Jr. M

Natasha Davies Broadneck Sr. D

Jill Puffenbarger Severna Park Jr. D

Katie Monaghan Arch. Spalding Sr. G

Second team

Name School Cl Pos

Lauren Clear Arundel Sr. A

Natalie Cullers South River Jr. A

Allie Frank Severn Jr. A

Kelly Gaudreau St. Mary's Sr. A

Sam Price Severna Park Sr. A

Lauren Carrier Old Mill Sr. M

Megan Jendrossek Arch. Spalding Jr. M

Nicki Marcinik Southern Jr. M

Alex Mavris Chesapeake Sr. D

Sarah Meisenberg Severn Sr. D

Meredith Newton Severna Park So. D

Alexia Niumatalolo Broadneck So. D

Casey Lean Annapolis Sr. G

Erica Webb Broadneck Jr. G

Note: Teams selected by Glenn P. Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad