Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!



Player of the Year

Amanda Fefel, Catonsville

The hard-throwing junior pitcher was in a class of her own in the county, leading the Comets to their second Baltimore County crown in three seasons.

Fefel went 14-2 with a 0.47 ERA and 185 strikeouts in 103 innings. Also the spark to the Comets' offense, she hit .444 with six homers and 23 RBIs. She also walked 20 times.

She will go into her senior year with a 41-5 mark and 559 strikeouts.

Coach of the Year

Bryan Thanner, Western Tech

When Thanner took over the program in 2001, the Wolverines were coming off five straight losing seasons. Under Thanner, they haven't had a losing season.

This season, the Wolverines -- with the majority of their lineup freshmen and sophomores -- finished with a 17-5 mark, reaching the Baltimore County championship game and capturing their first Class 2A North regional title.

First team

Name School Cl Pos

Amanda Fefel Catonsville Jr. P

Julianne Roper Western Tech So. P

Whitney Williams Hereford Sr. C

Erin Brady Mount de Sales Jr. 1B

Brittany Woods Dulaney Sr. 1B

Jenna Schuberth Mount de Sales Sr. 2B

Rashida Holmes McDonogh Jr. 3B

Mallorie Clary Catonsville Jr. SS

Katie Cole Dulaney So. OF

Kelly Dorsey Catonsville So. OF

Shannon Thorton Mount de Sales Jr. OF

Katie Colvin Western Tech Fr. DH

Second team

Name School Cl Pos

Amy Happel Lansdowne Jr. P

Sarah Moetter Dulaney Jr. P

Heather Peluso Maryvale Fr. P

Alex Bell Maryvale Sr. C

Sophie Gage Mount de Sales Sr. C

Erika Lewandowski Eastern Tech Sr. 1B

Brittany Bangert Eastern Tech So. 2B

Katie Schmidt Parkville Jr. 3B

Christine Wallick Hereford So. SS

Lindsay Freitag Parkville Jr. OF

Casey Perry Western Tech So. OF

Stacey Rouse Mount de Sales Jr. OF

Note: Teams selected by Glenn P. Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad