Player of the Year

Kaila Jenkins, Sev. Park

In leading the No. 3 Falcons (17-4) to their first county championship game title and an appearance in the Class 3A South regional finals, Jenkins, a junior, went 15-4 with a 0.36 ERA that featured 229 strikeouts in 136 innings.

The repeat All-County Player of the Year made an equally impressive impact hitting third in the Falcons' lineup, batting .552 with 33 RBIs.

Coach of the Year

Nicki Trumpler, Archbishop Spalding

After winning four Catholic League championships during her playing days from 1992 to 1995, Trumpler picked up where she left off in her first season as head coach by leading the No. 2 Cavaliers to the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference crown.

The Cavaliers (18-4) hit an early-season bump with three straight league losses before winning 13 straight to also capture the Maryland Private Schools' Tournament title.

First team

Name School Cl Pos

Kaila Jenkins Severna Park Jr. P

Beth Mullins North County Sr. P

Stephanie Weigman Arch. Spalding So. P

Rachelle Wedell Northeast Sr. C

Jordyn Williams Chesapeake So. 1B

Brittany McKenzie North County Jr. 2B

Kristin Wojtowycz Severna Park Sr. 3B

Jamie Buchheit North County So. SS

Michelle Davis Glen Burnie Sr. OF

Brittany Lounge Arch. Spalding Jr. OF

Lauren O'Malley Arch. Spalding Jr. OF

Sloane Van Meter Arch. Spalding So. OF

Second team

Name School Cl Pos

Joanna Allen Chesapeake Jr. P

Jessie Battista Broadneck Sr. P

Heather Enders Old Mill Sr. P

Samantha Dulski Chesapeake So. C

Kelly Leary Glen Burnie So. 1B

Lindsay Gray Northeast So. 2B

Jessica Richards Glen Burnie So. 3B

Jennifer Haag Severna Park Fr. SS

Emily Bolling Chesapeake Sr. OF

Hannah Karaszkiewicz North County Sr. OF

Brooke Owen Chesapeake So. OF

Dawn Artman Old Mill Sr. UT

Note: Teams selected by Glenn P. Graham after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad