Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!



Player of the Year

Alex Ashcroft, Centennial

The senior attackman set a school record with 98 points this season (61 goals, 37 assists), and his 202 career points came within two of the school's career record as he led his team to its second straight 3A-2A state title and a 17-1 record.

Always hounded by the other team's best defenseman, he consistently scored five to eight points in the big games. He'll play for Virginia Tech next year.

Coach of the Year

Dave Griffin, Hammond

Griffin directed the Bears to their second-best record ever at 10-5. Those wins included an 8-7 upset of Glenelg.

The Bears, after losing two key players to injuries, still won four of their last five league games and were up by five goals against River Hill in the regional playoffs before an injury to face-off man Vince Taweel contributed to a 13-10 loss.

First team

Name School Cl Pos

Alex Ashcroft Centennial Sr. A

Brennan Dougherty Centennial Sr. A

Ben Hostetler River Hill Sr. A

Sam Stumpf Centennial Sr. A

Andrew Aleshire Mount Hebron Sr. M

Eric Evans Centennial Sr. M

Cory Thomas River Hill Sr. M

Keith Fischer Centennial Sr. D

Matt Richter Glenelg Sr. D

Eric Segasser Mount Hebron Sr. D

Ward Odenwald Glenelg Sr. G

Danny Walker Glenelg CS Sr. G

Second team

Name School Cl Pos

Matt Berry Mount Hebron Sr. A

Benin Bembry Wilde Lake Sr. A

Zander Crawford Atholton Jr. A

Tom Incontrera Mount Hebron Jr. A

Ben Cobleigh Glenelg Jr. M

Scott Fry Centennial Sr. M

Peter Ridge River Hill Jr. M

Mike Condron Centennial Sr. D

Colin Fadrowski River Hill Sr. D

Chris Saxton Mount Hebron Sr. D

Andrew Walls Glenelg CS So. D

Mike Bogdanor River Hill Sr. G

Note: Teams selected by Rick Belz after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad