Capital Gazette wins special Pulitzer Prize citation for coverage of newsroom shooting that killed five



Player of the Year

Mike Gvozden, Sev. Park

Gvozden, who has orally committed to Johns Hopkins, is an All-County goalie for the third consecutive year.

Athletic and instinctive, the junior matured into a leader for the Falcons, who finished as the Class 4A state runners-up.

Gvozden finished the season with 177 saves as he stopped more than 70 percent of the shots against him.

Coach of the Year

Jim Beardmore, Sev. Park

In Beardmore's second season, the No. 10 Falcons (16-2) repeated as county (fourth in a row) and regional champions, but fell short of repeating as Class 4A-3A state champions, losing to Dulaney in double overtime, 14-13.

The Falcons' only other loss was to top-ranked Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference champion McDonogh. In two seasons, Beardmore, who repeated as All-County Coach of the Year, has led the Falcons to a 32-6 record.

First team

Name School Cl. Pos

Alex Hoppmann Annapolis Sr. A

Ben Hunt Severna Park Sr. A

Christian Pastirik St.Mary's Sr. A

Josh Peck Broadneck Sr. A

Bobby Atwell Southern Sr. M

Chris Hunt Severna Park So. M

Brooks Korvin Arundel Sr. M

Mike Evans South River Sr. D

Sean Kostkowski Severna Park Sr. D

John Osterriter Broadneck Sr. D

Matt Vetter Annapolis Sr. D

Mike Gvozden Severna Park Jr. G

Second team

Name School Cl Pos

Eric Boyle Annapolis Jr. A

Bobby Hantske Southern Sr. A

Eric Lusby Severna Park So. A

Nick Elsmo Severn Jr. M

Ryan Payne Old Mill Sr. M

Mitch Strobel Annapolis Sr. M

Shawn Lowman Severna Park Jr. D

Reggie McHenry Arundel Sr. D

Tim Polucha South River Sr. D

Matt Antonelli Spalding Sr. G

Mike Phipps Severn Jr. G

Note: Teams selected by Pat O'Malley after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad