Boys Player of the Year

Ryan Lissner, Centennial

The sophomore dominated the county a year ago, finishing second in the state and not losing until his final match, but found himself challenged by Wilde Lake freshman David Nguyen this season.

He met that challenge by defeating Nguyen three of the four times the two competed against each other, including a 1-6, 6-3, 6-4 victory in the Region V championship match.

Lissner lost the county tournament championship to Nguyen, 2-6, 6-3, 6-3, his only loss to a county player in two seasons.

Girls Player of the Year

Ally Spector, Reservoir

The senior two-year captain defeated her chief competitor, River Hill's Grace Cheng, in the final regular-season match before a large crowd at River Hill to preserve an undefeated, 17-0 regular season for the Hawks.

Spector, the county runner-up a year ago, came back to beat Cheng again in the county tournament championship, 3-6, 6-2, 6-2.

Spector lost to Cheng in a regular-season match and again in the District V championship match, 6-1, 6-1, however.

Coach of the Year

Ken Klock, Reservoir

His team won the school's first county title in any sport when it captured the girls dual-meet championship over Glenelg.

Klock, the athletic director better known for his 24-year football coaching career at Oakland Mills, coached his second season of tennis. The Gators also finished second in team competition at the county tournament.

The boys team

Name School Cl Category

Scott Burtzlaff River Hill Jr. Singles

Chris Hilchey Centennial Sr. Singles

Ryan Lissner Centennial So. Singles

David Nguyen Wilde Lake Fr. Singles

Trevor Anderson River Hill Sr. Doubles

Matt Flick Howard Jr. Doubles

The girls team

Name School Cl Category

Grace Cheng River Hill Fr. Singles

Meredith Ely Reservoir Sr. Singles

Allie Pecore Howard Fr. Singles

Ally Spector Reservoir Sr. Singles

Monica Machado Reservoir Sr. Doubles

Angela Tenaglia Reservoir So. Doubles

Note: Teams selected by Rick Belz after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad