Loyola tops St. Paul's, 16-11, in boys lacrosse to earn 3rd seed in tourney


Goalie Tommy Phelan and a balanced attack led the No. 4 Loyola boys lacrosse team to a 16-11 victory over No. 2 St. Paul's yesterday in a Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference game.

Phelan had 21 saves and seniors Brady Smith, Bobby Lennon and Tyler Tolson paced the offense with three goals each.

The host Dons (13-2, 8-2) earned the No. 3 seed in the MIAA A tournament. The Crusaders (14-3, 7-3), who were led by Bart Wagner's three goals, will be the fourth seed.

No. 1 McDonogh 14, No. 8 Mount St. Joseph 5: Travis Reed had seven goals and an assist and Porter Curran had six points (one goal, five assists) as the Eagles (20-1) earned the top seed in the MIAA A Conference tournament.


No. 1 Calvert Hall 11, Riverdale Baptist 7: Mike Newton went 3-for-5 with a home run, four RBIs, three runs and two stolen bases to lead the visiting Cardinals (24-1) to their 24th straight victory.

Calvert Hall tied the state record for most consecutive wins in a season. Northeast went 24-0 in 1991.

The record for consecutive wins overall is 54, set by Bowie from 1981 to 1983.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad