MLB: Elected John Henry and John Moores to executive council.

BRAVES: Agreed with P Jay Powell on minor league contract.


BREWERS: Purchased contract of C C.J. Medlin from Gary (Independent).

DEVIL RAYS: Agreed with P Brian Stokes, C Toby Hall and SS Julio Lugo on one-year contracts. Sent P John Webb outright to Triple-A Durham. DIAMONDBACKS: Invited the following players to spring training: P Jon Cannon, P Casey Daigle, P Jose Jimenez, P Brandon Medders, P Shane Nance, P Phil Stockman, P Kevin Tolar; C Craig Ansman, C Juan Brito, C Corey Myers, C Kelly Stinnett, C Alan Zinter, IF Andy Green, IF Sergio Santos, OF Doug DeVore, OF Conor Jackson, OF Quinton McCracken and OF Carlos Quentin.

INDIANS: Agreed with P Paul Shuey on minor league contract.

METS: Signed P Mike Matthews to a minor league contract and invited him to spring training.

TWINS: Agreed with OF Armando Rios on minor league contract.

WHITE SOX: Designated P Jason Grilli for assignment.

YANKEES: Agreed with P Danny Borrell, IF Homer Bush, IF Caonabo Cosme, C Joe Depastino, OF Doug Glanville, OF Noah Hall, C Ryan Hankins, IF Russ Johnson, C David Parrish, OF Colin Porter, C Irwil Rojas, IF Damian Rolls, C Omir Santos, P Aaron Small, C Jon-Mark Sprowl, P Marc Valdes, OF Mike Vento and P Brad Voyles on minor league contracts.



CELTICS: Placed F Al Jefferson on injured list. Activated F Justin Reed from injured list.

CLIPPERS: Activated F Chris Wilcox (Maryland) from injured list.

HORNETS: Placed G Baron Davis on injured list with bruised right ankle. Signed G Junior Harrington to 10-day contract.

KNICKS: Activated G-F Anfernee Hardaway and G Moochie Norris from injured list. Placed G Allen Houston on injured list.

NETS: Claimed C Elden Campbell off waivers from Jazz.

TRAIL BLAZERS: Suspended F Darius Miles two games for conduct detrimental to the team and insubordination.



ANNE ARUNDEL COMMUNITY COLLEGE: M Ryan Kemp (Northeast) was named to NJCAA Division III All-America team and Region XX first team for men's soccer. M Jacob Bennett (Northeast), M James Rosenfelder and D Jonathan Coleman (North County) were named Region XX first team. D Mike laroque was named to second team. M Jenn Gappert (Broadneck) was named NJCAA Division I honorable mention for women's soccer. H Elizabeth Rodenhizer was named Region XX first team for volleyball.

NORTH CAROLINA STATE: Named Marc Trestman offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach.

OKLAHOMA STATE: Named Mike Gundy football coach.


COWBOYS: Fired defensive ends coach Jim Jeffcoat.


JETS: Named Jeremy Bates quarterbacks coach.

PACKERS: Named Edgar Bennett running backs coach.

SAINTS: Named Johnny Roland running backs coach and Willy Robinson senior defensive assistant coach.

TITANS: Named Ray Sherman wide receivers coach.


D.C. UNITED: Re-signed D Mike Petke.