BRAVES: Signed free-agent OF Brian Jordan (Milford Mill), who had been with Rangers, to one-year contract.

BREWERS: Signed P Ricky Bottalico, who had been with Mets, to one-year contract. Re-signed OF-P Brooks Kieshnick to one-year contract.

DEVIL RAYS: Signed OF Dee Brown, former O's OF Marty Cordova, P Mark Guthrie, P Brian Sweeney and IF Shane Halter to minor league contracts with invitations to spring training.

DIAMONDBACKS: Agreed to terms with P Jose Jimenez on minor league contract.

MARINERS: Agreed to terms with IF Ricky Gutierrez on minor league contract.

NATIONALS: Signed free-agent P Esteban Loaiza, who had been with Yankees, to one-year contract.

ORIOLES: Signed P Tony Saunders to minor league contract with invitation to spring training.

PHILLIES: Signed IF Jose Offerman to minor league contract and invited him to spring training.

RANGERS: Agreed to terms with P Carlos Almanzar on one-year contract andIF Mark DeRosa on minor league contract.

REDS: Named Sean Marohn minor league strength and conditioning coordinator.

TIGERS: Agreed to terms with P Nelson Cruz, P Craig Dingman, former O's P Sean Douglass, P John Ennis, P Andrew Good, P Matt Roney, P Mike Bynum, P Doug Creek, C Brandon Harper, C Sandy Martinez, C Mike Rabelo, C Michael Rivera, C Maxim St. Pierre, IF Tony Giarratano, IF Jack Hannahan, IF Mike Hessman, IF Kevin Hooper, IF Dean Palmer and OF Alexis Gomez on minor league contracts.

WHITE SOX: Agreed to terms on minor-league contracts with C Raul Casanova, C Chris Widger, IF Pablo Ozuna, IF Jorge Toca and OF Tony Alvarez.


NBA: Fined 76ers F Marc Jackson $5,000 for directing obscenity at fan during Jan. 17 game.

BOBCATS: Activated G Steve Smith from injured list. Placed C Jahidi White on injured list with right shoulder strain.

HAWKS: Activated G Tony Delk from injured list. Placed G Royal Ivey on injured list with right knee tendinitis.

NETS: Named Brett Yormark president and CEO of Nets Sports & Entertainment.

ROCKETS: Signed G Rod Strickland. Released G Brandin Knight.

76ERS: Placed F Brian Skinner on injured list with left knee synovitis. Activated G Kedrick Brown from injured list.

SUNS: Placed G Leandro Barbosa on injured list with left ankle sprain. Signed William Parker to 10-day contract.


CALIFORNIA U. OF PENNSYLVANIA: Announced G-F Kelvin Green has transferred from Coppin State and has joined men's basketball program.

CLEMSON: Named Vic Koenning defensive coordinator and Marion Hobby assistant defensive coach.

DUKE: Announced resignation of assistant football coach Tom Knotts.

IONA: Named Patrick Lyons AD.

LA SALLE: Announced basketball G Marshall Taylor will transfer to school from Siena.

NORFOLK STATE: Named Pete Adrian football coach.

SAN DIEGO STATE: Named Dennis McKnight TE coach.

TEMPLE: Rachel Clinton (Columbia, Oakland Hills) name Atlantic 10 women's indoor track Performer of Week.

VIRGINIA: Announced that F Jason Clark will miss rest of season for academic reasons.


BENGALS: Named Chuck Bresnahan defensive coordinator.

BRONCOS: Signed DE Chukie Nwokorie to future contract.

COWBOYS: Signed LB Kevin DeRonde.

DOLPHINS: Agreed with Scott Linehan on three-year contract as offensive coordinator. Signed RB Avon Cobourne, RB Ben Moa, T Victor Leyva and DB Brandon Haw.

JETS: Announced resignation of offensive coordinator Paul Hackett. Named Mike Heimerdinger offensive coordinator.

PACKERS: Signed P Brooks Barnard (Maryland), WR Sam Breeden, S Julius Curry, CB Chris Day, LB John Garrett, TE Sparky Hamilton, G Joe Hayes, G Atlas Herrion, WR Jamal Jones, WR Kelvin Kight, S Chonn Lacey, WR Mike Marker, QB Scott McBrien (Maryland), LB Nick McNeil, G Joe Quinn, RB Chris Robertson, DT Doug Sims, S Art Smith, DE Seante Williams and Wendell Williams to future contracts.

RAVENS: Named Clarence Brooks defensive line coach.

TEXANS: Signed WR Sloan Thomas, LB Tim Cheatwood, DE Jason Davis, LB Anthony Dunn, LB Tyreo Harrison, OT Casey Knutson, RB Adam Matthews, LB David Moretti, WR Nick Narcisse, QB Preston Parsons, P Cody Scates, K Chris Snyder, WR Allen Suber and S David Young to future contracts.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad