THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!



Runner of the Year

Alison Smith, Atholton

Another season, another Howard County Runner of the Year honor for Smith. The precocious sophomore reeled in her second straight county title, proving that last year's win - which involved a front-runner's failure to finish the race - was no fluke.

Smith, who claimed the county crown in 19 minutes, 56.05 seconds, didn't limit her success to the county. Of the eight major invitationals and championships in which she competed, Smith won six of them and never placed outside of the top three. She won the Class 2A state title in 19:38.

Coach of the Year

Robert Slopek, Centennial

Armed with talent among the 45 girls that made up this season's program, Slopek emphasized pack running as a way to move Centennial past its challengers.

Centennial reached the pinnacle when it claimed the county title for the first time since 1996. After collecting the Class 3A East region crown for the first time since 1997, the No. 9 Eagles placed fourth at the state meet.

The team

Name School Class

Kate Caffrey Atholton Soph.

Becca Collins Mt. Hebron Senior

Jessica Hibbert Glenelg Senior

Amanda Hill Centennial Senior

Sarah Lancos Centennial Senior

Samantha Matthews Glenelg CS Fresh.

Bess Seelaus River Hill Junior

Angeli Sivaraman Centennial Soph.

Alison Smith Atholton Soph.

Katie Williams Wilde Lake Soph.

Note: Teams selected by Edward Lee after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad