Runner of the Year

Allison Barnes, C.M. Wright

After running off with the Class 3A North region and state crowns as a freshman last season, Barnes hardly missed a beat as she opened this year with a convincing victory at the Spiked Shoe Invitational (20 minutes).

She finally grabbed the Harford County championship in 18:23.61 - a title that had eluded her last season due to a muscle strain. Barnes then won the region crown (18:22.17), but passed out before the finish line at the state meet.

Coaches of the Year

Larry Ashman and Don Mickey, C. M.Wright

Managing a group of ultra-talented runners that make up the state's No. 1 team is hard work, but Mickey and Ashman made it look easy. Burdened with high expectations, the Mustangs rose to the occasion nearly every time.

The No. 1 Mustangs polished off their postseason run by sweeping the county (their 14th title in the past 15 years), region (their fourth in the past six years) and state (their first since 2000) crowns.

The team

Name School Class

Sara Bailey C.M. Wright Fresh.

Allison Barnes C.M. Wright Soph.

Kelli Buck C.M. Wright Senior

Danielle Burcham C.M. Wright Senior

Leah Estremera C.M. Wright Senior

Lindsay Lippencott C.M. Wright Fresh.

Megan O'Connor Fallston Senior

Megan Ravenscraft C.M. Wright Junior

Heather Troutman N. Harford Junior

Sarah Zader Bel Air Soph.

Note: Teams selected by Edward Lee after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad