Runner of the Year

Lauren Childs, Bryn Mawr

Childs, who was the team's No. 3 runner as a freshman, took over the No. 1 slot by placing in the top five in all six major invitationals and championships in which she competed.

The sophomore capped her stellar season by surprising Glenna and Kelly Sullivan of Maryvale and capturing the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference championship in 19:17.

Coach of the Year

Randy Fowler, Mercy

After consecutive runner-up finishes in the Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland, Fowler remained unsatisfied. This fall, No. 5 Mercy avenged dual-meet losses to No. 6 Maryvale and No. 7 Bryn Mawr to collect the school's first crown in cross country.

The Magic, who also won the small schools race at the Bull Run and the large schools race at the Baltimore-Washington Independent Schools championships, edged out Maryvale by a single point for the IAAM title.

The team

Name School Class

Jamie Antonious Mercy Senior

Karen Buchheister Mercy Soph.

Lauren Childs Bryn Mawr Soph.

Brittany Griffin Digital Harbor Junior

Christy Johnson Bryn Mawr Junior

Maggie King Mercy Senior

Theresa Lippy Mercy Soph.

Katara Logan Western Fresh.

Laura Paulsen Bryn Mawr Junior

Kitria Stewart Mervo Fresh.

Note: Teams selected by Edward Lee after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad