Player of the Year

Matt Beckman, McDonogh

The three-time All-Baltimore County and All-Metro selection rose to the occasion yet again, finishing with 26 goals and 15 assists to raise the senior's career totals to 68 career goals and 31 career assists.

Beckman, who is headed for the University of Maryland to play soccer, scored seven game-winning goals, including the Eagles' 3-0 Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference title-game win over rival Calvert Hall.

Coach of the Year

Steve Nichols, McDonogh

Nichols led the Eagles to their seventh straight Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference final. This time, however, they dethroned two-time champ Calvert Hall, 3-0.

The eighth-year coach's team finished with a 20-2-2 record that included 15 shutouts, a No. 1-ranking in The Sun and its third MIAA A Conference crown. Nichols' squad defeated three nationally ranked teams and tied a fourth, outscoring its opposition, 68-7. Nichols is 146-32-8 in eight seasons.

First team

Name School Cl. P

Andrew Gillis Perry Hall Sr. F

Mike Novotny Towson Sr. F

Xavier Rock McDonogh Jr. F

Tyler Zentz Towson Sr. F

Matt Beckman McDonogh Sr. M

Luke Herold Eastern Tech Sr. M

Mike Marchiano McDonogh Sr. M

T.J. Jager Loch Raven Sr. D

Justin Lichtfuss McDonogh Sr. D

Nino Mangione Calvert Hall Sr. D

Scott Matthews Boys' Latin Sr. D

Jonathan Ports McDonogh Jr. D

Alex Horwath McDonogh Sr. G

Second team

Name School Cl. P

Chris Cruikshank Redeemer Christ. Sr. F

Tim Dubyoski Loyola Jr. F

Ben Ryugo Park Sr. F

Dave Gliniecki Dundalk Sr. M

Steve Pirrera Perry Hall Sr. M

Brian Schultz Calvert Hall Sr. M

Tyler Tracy Catonsville Sr. M

Adam Pfannenstein Eastern Tech Sr. D

Brent Snyder Patapsco Sr. D

Akira Fitzgerald Loyola Jr. G

Tyler Hodgkins Dulaney Sr. G

Note: Teams selected by Lem Satterfield after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad