Offensive Player of the Year

Anthony Preston, Joppatowne

The senior quarterback made the Mariners' option offense go, guiding Joppatowne to a second straight Class 1A state title game appearance.

Joppatowne's bid for a second straight state crown fell short, but Preston did all he could to prevent it. He ran for 133 yards in that 16-14 loss to Dunbar and finished with 1,292 rushing yards on the season. He also threw for six touchdowns despite missing nearly three games with injuries.

He also was the county's leading punter, another reason schools such as Virginia Tech, West Virginia and San Diego State are showing interest.

Defensive Player of the Year

Jeremy Navarre, Joppatowne

The Maryland-bound senior was the player that every team ran away from. The Mariners put Navarre at a number of different spots on the line, at defensive end or tackle, moving him around while opponents constantly tried to avoid him.

Still, Navarre often found his way to the ball, running sideline to sideline to make plays, get sacks or do whatever was needed. In the season-opening, 28-18 win over John Carroll, the Patriots had kept Navarre away from the quarterback for long stretches, but he made a big tackle in the final quarter that helped lock up the win.

Navarre also played fullback and was a strong blocker.

Coach of the Year

Bill Waibel, Joppatowne

The longtime Joppatowne assistant took over as head coach this year and faced a challenging task - taking over a team trying to win a second consecutive state title. But Waibel's low-key, positive style kept the team on track and got the Mariners (11-3) back to the Class 1A state finals.

He is the son of the late Augie Waibel, the former longtime Poly coach, and, like his father, loves to run the ball, as the Mariners rushed for more than 4,000 yards.

County Offensive Player of the Year Anthony Preston and county Defensive Player of the Year Jeremy Navarre played huge roles in the team's success, but Waibel also got everyone to contribute.

First-team offense

Name School Cl P

Andrew Berry Bel Air Sr. QB

Anthony Preston Joppatowne Sr. QB

Mike Gable Bel Air Sr. RB

Joe Ivory Joppatowne Sr. RB

Jesse Murphy Harford Tech Sr. RB

Adam Berry Bel Air Sr. WR

Lance Cannington C.M. Wright Sr. WR

Joe Baham Edgewood Sr. OL

John Hardesty Joppatowne Sr. OL

Harrison Rigden North Harford Sr. OL

Griffin Stewart Bel Air Sr. OL

Spencer Washington Joppatowne Jr. OL

First-team defense

Name School Cl P

Bill Gaff North Harford Sr. DL

Paul Knopp C.M. Wright Sr. DL

Jeremy Navarre Joppatowne Sr. DL.

Cameron Stokes Aberdeen Sr. DL

Ryan Crabbs Bel Air Sr. LB

Clint Ensley Edgewood Sr. LB

John Jackson Bel Air Sr. LB

Dashaun Lewis Joppatowne Sr. LB

Jerrell Ringgold H. de Grace Sr. LB

Nick Von Cannon Harford Tech So. LB

Ezra Ancrum Joppatowne Sr. DB

Jamaal McDonald Aberdeen Sr. DB

Second-team offense

Name School Cl P

Steve Balcer C.M. Wright Sr. QB

Dane Frank John Carroll Sr. RB

Don Jacobs Aberdeen Sr. RB

Avery Willie Aberdeen Sr. RB

Sean Bannon C.M. Wright Sr. WR

Devron Galloway Aberdeen Sr. WR

Willie Bell Bel Air Sr. TE

Nick Archis Bel Air Jr. OL

Brian Leftridge Aberdeen Jr. OL

Andy Meredith Bel Air Sr. OL

Max Townsend Edgewood Sr. OL

Dean Roberts John Carroll Sr. K

Second-team defense

Name School Cl P

Bryan Compher Fallston Sr. DL

Chad Ogle Bel Air Sr. DL

Anthony Tapp John Carroll Sr. DL

Richard Forton Aberdeen Sr. LB

Craig Hofferbert North Harford Sr. LB

Pat McLhinney Bel Air Sr. LB

Tony Schepis C.M. Wright Sr. LB

Domanick West Bel Air Sr. LB

Ben Cuttingham Edgewood Jr. DB

Chris Rye C.M. Wright Sr. DB

Dean Thrasher North Harford Sr. DB

Austin Brown North Harford Sr. P

Note: Teams selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad