THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

Committee named to find new NAACP president


NAACP Chairman Julian Bond named a nine-member search committee yesterday to replace Kweisi Mfume, who announced last week his resignation as president of the Baltimore-based civil rights group.

The committee includes members and staff of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, as well as people from outside the organization.

In addition to Bond, they are NAACP Vice Chairwoman Roslyn Brock; NAACP board member Rupert Richardson; Jack Kemp, a former Republican congressman from New York and former secretary of Housing and Urban Development; Hugh B. Price, former president of the National Urban League; NAACP board member Alice Huffman; Philip Murphy, managing director of the investment management division at Goldman Sachs & Co. and board member of the NAACP Special Contribution Fund; Coleman Peterson, president of Hollis Enterprises LLC and board member of the NAACP Special Contribution Fund; and Nicholas Wiggins, a member of the NAACP youth board.

Mfume abruptly announced his resignation Nov. 30, after nearly nine years at the nation's oldest and largest civil rights group. Mfume, who has been credited with bringing financial stability and credibility to the group, said he wanted to spend more time with his family.

But his announcement ignited speculation that a sour relationship with Bond caused his departure or that Mfume was considering a U.S. Senate run.

In a letter dated Dec. 2, Michael Meyers, who served as assistant director to NAACP giants Roy Wilkins and the Rev. Benjamin L. Hooks, suggested to Bond that the search committee be made up of people outside the organization.

But Bond said last week that he had no intention of building a committee made up completely of NAACP outsiders.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad