ANGELS: Traded OF Jose Guillen to Expos for OF Juan Rivera and SS Maicer Izturis. Purchased contracts of P Ervin Santana, P Joe Saunders, C Jeff Mathis and IF Alberto Callaspo from Double-A Arkansas and P Steven Shell from Single-A Rancho Cucamonga.

CUBS: Purchased contracts of P Russ Rohlicek and C Geovany Soto from Double-A West Tenn. Named Len Kasper TV play-by-play announcer.

DEVIL RAYS: Released IF Geoff Blum, P Jeremi Gonzalez and IF-OF Damian Rolls. Added P Jason Hammel, P Brian Stokes and P Chris Seddon to 40-man roster.

DIAMONDBACKS: Added P Jason Bulger, P Enrique Gonzalez, P Dustin Nippert, P Ramon Antonio Pena, P Justin Wechsler, P Bill Murphy and OF Marland Williams to 40-man roster.

GIANTS: Purchased contracts of P Scott Munter and OF Frederick Lewis from Triple-A Fresno, OF Daniel Ortmeier from Double-A Norwich, P Brian Burres from Single-A San Jose and P Erick Threets from Single-A Augusta.

INDIANS: Purchased contracts of P Fausto Carmona from Triple-A Buffalo and P Jake Dittler and OF Franklin Gutierrez from Double-A Akron. Exercised club option on contract of P Scott Sauerbeck.

MARINERS: Purchased contract of IF Mike Morse and OF Shin-Soo Choo from Double-A San Antonio and OF Wladimir Balentien from Single-A Inland Empire. Assigned IF Ramon Santigo outright to Triple-A Tacoma. Traded P Randy Williams to Padres for OF Billy Hogan.

MARLINS: Purchased contracts of 1B Jason Stokes, P Randy Messenger and OF Eric Reed from Double-A Carolina, P Yorman Bazardo from Single-A Jupiter and P Chris Resop from Single-A Greensboro. Sent outright P Lincoln Holdzkom to Triple-A Albuquerque. Signed P Jim Crowell and OF Matt Padgett to minor league contracts.

ORIOLES: Added 2B Mike Fontenot and C Eli Whiteside to 40-man roster. Assigned P Ryan Hannaman outright to Triple-A Ottawa.

RANGERS: Agreed with P Chris Young on three-year contract. Claimed IF Ruddy Yan off waivers from White Sox.

TIGERS: Purchased contract of P Mark Woodyard from Double-A Erie. Activated P Fernando Rodney, P Chris Spurling and 2B Fernando Vina from 60-day DL. Activated P Nate Cornejo from 60-DL and assigned him outright to Triple-A Toledo. Assigned P Matt Roney, P Felix Sanchez and IF Don Kelly outright to Toledo.

WHITE SOX: Re-signed P Jon Garland to one-year contract. Purchased contracts of P Kris Honel, P Matt Smith and IF Pedro Lopez from Double-A Birmingham and P Sean Tracey, P Paulino Reynoso and IF Casey Rogowski from Single-A Winston-Salem.

YANKEES: Purchased contracts of P Colter Bean and 2B Robinson Cano from Triple-A Columbus.


BULLS: Activated G Jannero Pargo from injured list. Placed C Jared Reiner on injured list.

HORNETS: Signed F Matt Freije. Waived G Tim Pickett.

PISTONS: Placed G Carlos Delfino on injured list.


ACFC: Named Salisbury RB Leroy Satchell Offensive Player of the Year, Salisbury LB Brad DeHaven Defensive Player of the Year, Salisbury K Brock Boland Co-Special Teams Players of the Year and Salisbury's Sherman Wood Coach of the Year. Named following to all-conference first team: RB Leroy Satchell, Salisbury; OL Jared Toler, Frostburg State; OL Brendan Riley, Salisbury; OL Jerrod Sample, Salisbury; DL Andrew Deming, Salisbury; LB Brad DeHaven, Salisbury; DB Turon Kendrick, Frostburg State; DB and return specialist Byron Westbrook, Salisbury; and K Brock Boland, Salisbury. Named following to second team: QB Dustin Johnson, Salisbury; WR Adam J. Snyder, Frostburg State; WR Gil Bolden, Frostburg State; OL Brett Wehnert, Salisbury; OL Mike Ellis, Salisbury; DL Ryan Cutsail, Frostburg State; DL Gabe Ellis, Frostburg State; LB James Clash, Frostburg State; DB Chris Barr, Salisbury; P Rick Nistler, Salisbury.

CENTRAL CONNECTICUT STATE: NEC named DL Devon Douglass (Calvert Hall) to football all-conference second team.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: Canceled men's and women's basketball seasons, citing problems with recruitment, academic eligibility and financial aid.

HOOD: AWCC named MH Ashley Cook (Francis Scott Key) to volleyball all-conference first team; named Jennifer Jones to second team; named Caroline Woodhams Newcomer of the Year.

OREGON: Alicia Burkhart (Century) and Ilsa van den Berg (Maryvale) signed to play women's lacrosse.


DOLPHINS: Activated DT Josh Shaw from practice squad. Signed WR Maurice Mann from Bengals' practice squad. Waived DE Ronald Flemons.

PANTHERS: Signed K Jeff Chandler and LB Sean Tufts from practice squad. Placed RB Joey Harris on IR.


UNITED: Lost Ezra Hendrickson (CD Chivas USA, third round), Thiago Martins (CD Chivas USA, ninth round) and Kevin Ara (Real Salt Lake, ninth round) in MLS expansion draft.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad