Transportation officers win awards

Eight Maryland Transportation Authority officers who live or work in Anne Arundel County have received state awards for excellence.

Officer Michael S. McNerney of Linthicum was named Detachment Officer of the Year for all-around excellence in traffic enforcement on the Bay Bridge. He also won an award from Mothers Against Drunk Driving for registering the most arrests for driving under the influence on the Bay Bridge last year.


Officer Duke G. Aaron III of Pasadena won a Top Performance Award for all-around excellence on the Bay Bridge.

Officer Bernard F. Ence of Severna Park won two awards for policing unsafe commercial vehicles.


Officer Charles R. Spinks of Glen Burnie received a Lifesaving Award for stopping the blood flow from an assault victim's wound and thus helping to save the victim's life.

Detective Cpls. Sanford J. Witcher and Kellie J. Kirby received Chief's Commendations for investigating baggage theft at Baltimore-Washington International Airport.

Officer Steven J. Benner of Dundalk was named Detachment Officer of the Year for all-around excellence at BWI.

Officer Jason P. Marll of Baltimore received an award from MADD for recording the most DUI arrests at BWI last year.

The Anne Arundel officers are among 100 law enforcement professionals recently honored by the authority, which is responsible for toll facilities, BWI and the port of Baltimore.