Carroll Digest

Eight candidates vying for seat in House of Delegates

An eighth candidate has added his name to the list of people who want to fill the House of Delegates seat that Carmen Amedori vacated July 1 to accept an appointment to the Maryland Parole Commission.


Vance Mercer, a Westminster farmer and building contractor, was the last candidate to file before the deadline Friday.

Other candidates for the District 5A seat include Dr. Michael Gloth, a Finksburg physician; Kevin Kowalski, a Westminster business owner; James Reter, an accountant and member of the Carroll County Republic Central Committee; David Roush, former manager of Lehigh Portland Cement Co. in Union Bridge; Tanya Shewell, former president of the Republican Women's Club of Carroll County; C. Scott Stone, president of the county Board of Education; and Westminster Fire Chief Kevin Utz.


The Carroll County Republican Central Committee will interview the candidates in open session at 6 p.m. July 24 in the public meeting room of the county Board of Education building on Court Street in Westminster. Each candidate will respond individually to a set of prepared questions while other candidates are sequestered.

Westminster to activate traffic signal today

Westminster will activate the traffic signal at Center Street and Cranberry Road at 10 a.m. today.

The light has been flashing since Monday.

City officials are urging motorists to exercise caution at the intersection.

Information: 410-848-4363.

Freedom citizens council to hold elections tonight

The Freedom Area Citizens' Council has announced its executive officer nominees for the 2004-2006 term.


Elections for the board of directors and executive officers will be held at 6:30 p.m. today in the community room at Carrolltown Center, on Liberty Road in Eldersburg. The public is invited to participate.

Nominees for the two-year terms include Tom McCarron for president; Richard Nacewicz for vice president; Doug Metz for treasurer; and Nicole Musgrave-Burdette for treasurer.

"We are very lucky to have four outstanding individuals nominated to become executive officers of FACC," said Ross Dangel, the departing president.

"I am very confident, indeed, that the FACC will continue to be a strong and influential voice for the Freedom community," he said. "We have accomplished much over the past few years and this new group of leaders ensures that the FACC will remain a viable and strong force in working to enhance our community."

Dangel will continue to serve on the council's board along with Dan Bicking, Nimrod Davis, Cathy Dodson, Kim Madeja, Mike and Cathy Naused, Harry O'Sullivan and Ken Plante.