Owings Mills, River Hill lead titlists

Host and No. 2 Owings Mills took another step toward defending its state wrestling championship yesterday as the Eagles, on the strength of five regional titlists, defeated No. 3 Harford Tech, 197-172 1/2 , and claimed their 12th Class 2A-1A North crown.

Eric Vinores' 8-6 victory over No. 1 Kyle Krumholtz of Overlea in the 125-pound weight class avenged a loss; at 119 pounds, Rob Cooper won a matchup of former state champions, 11-9, over Hereford's D.J. Scarponi; at 140, Sasha Binder scored his second win of the year against former state runner-up Brad Dreyer of Harford Tech, winning, 5-4, on a takedown with 20 seconds left; and Mike Kessler (145) and Eric Fishel (171) combined for five pins and one technical fall during their title runs.


Owings Mills qualified eight wrestlers in all to go after its sixth state title next weekend at the University of Maryland's Cole Field House.

Harford Tech crowned Mike Long (112), Mike Taylor (130), Josh Taylor (152) and Tony Gibson (189). Long's overtime upset came on riding criteria over former state runner-up Alex Prezenchuk of Pikesville; Josh Taylor dethroned former state runner-up Dan Sexton of Overlea, 8-4; and Gibson trailed 5-0 when Loch Raven's Valentin Riazanov defaulted with a shoulder injury.


Former state champion Jeremy Navarre (heavyweight, 33-0) of Joppatowne won the match of the night, overcoming a 4-2 first-period deficit with a pin in the second period against Pikesville's Phil Thomas (31-3, 23 pins). Navarre had been unscored upon this season before being thrown to his back in the first period.

Other champions were Joppatowne's Erick Brown (103), Hereford's Shaun Reider (135), Eastern Tech's Justin Shaffer (160) and Loch Raven's Tyler White (215). Reider and White each pinned all three of his opponents.

-- Lem Satterfield

4A-3A North

With Taylor Green and Vince Cina securing crowns, host River Hill captured its fourth 4A-3A North regional championship in five years and, in the process, qualified a school-record 11 wrestlers for the state tournament.

With Green (103 pounds) and Cina (112) showing the way, the fifth-ranked Hawks accumulated 204 points, beating runner-up North Carroll by 51 1/2 points.

Cina (34-1) overcame a 2-0 deficit against former state runner-up James Knox (34-2) of Dulaney for a 3-2 victory in overtime.

North Carroll (152 1/2 points) crowned Tim Hutchins (135) and Robbie Pearre (171), with Kenwood's Mason Krumholtz (145) improving to 33-0 with his 3-2 win over North Carroll's Seth Knights.


Woodlawn's Corey Lawson (24-2 at 130) avenged an overtime loss with his 5-2 decision over Centennial's Dominic Ventura (29-3), as did Perry Hall's Matt Kahl (22-3 at 140) with his 12-3 major decision over Catonsville's Alex Broadwater (28-6).

Towson's Scott Steele (30-0, 189) won a semifinal showdown of state runners-up over No. 3 Eric Hood of Patapsco. Steele then won the title bout, 6-3, over Thomas Johnson's Mark Esmont (31-1).

Frederick's Mark Tsikerdanos (125) used two pins and a technical fall to lift his career record to 56-0.

-- Lem Satterfield

4A-3A East

With three champions, one runner-up and eight wrestlers in all heading to next weekend's state tournament, Chesapeake of Anne Arundel was the class of the 4A-3A East region.


On its own mats, the Cougars got regional crowns from 119-pound Corey Bowers -- his fourth -- Josh O'Keefe (103) and Shane Fraser (125), and a second-place finish from Jake Couch (171) to easily outpoint defending region champion Old Mill, 150-118.

Arundel took third (107 1/2 ); Fallston was fourth (92); and Severna Park placed fifth (84).

"It was a real good weekend," said Chesapeake coach Rex Miller.

Leading runner-up Old Mill was senior Doug West, who scored a 5-1 decision over Broadneck's Mike Vakas in the final to tie 2001 graduate Adam DeCosmo with a program-best 136 career wins.

West was one of five Patriots who qualified for the state tournament.

Fallston senior Nathan Bachmann made it three straight regional titles with a 7-1 win over Arundel's Josh Hayghe at 152. Bachmann will try for a third straight state crown next weekend.


Another highlight came in the 215-pound weight class. Broadneck's Tyler Moyer scored a 10-7 decision over Patterson's Dashawn Barrett, who came into the match 27-0, with all of the wins by pin.

-- Glenn P. Graham

2A-1A South

Host Glenelg continued its remarkable season by winning the 2A-1A South region title over runner-up Oakland Mills, 177-156.

The Gladiators, who also won their first dual-meet regional title this season and posted a 13-4 record after going 9-8 a year ago, placed six wrestlers in the finals and won three individual titles.

"Never in my wildest dreams did I think we'd win a regional championship," said Glenelg's 119-pound regional champion, David Brindza.


Matt Birchner (145) and Erik Hufnagel (160) joined Brindza as regional winners. John Regan (140), Danny Bianco (152) and Mike Chase (189) finished as runners-up.

Oakland Mills, third-place Atholton and fourth-place Hammond each won two titles.

Sean Kendig (215) of Oakland Mills stayed undefeated by winning a county championship rematch with Howard's Mingo Grant, 3-2.

Hammond's Ethan Cohen pinned his way through at 103 pounds, and teammate Vince Taweel (125) won a rematch of his county championship match by beating Jeff Plasse of Oakland Mills, 6-2.

Poly's Matthew Oakley (171), a state runner-up last year, stayed unbeaten (22-0) and won his second straight regional title.

-- Rick Belz


2A-1A West

South Carroll won the 2A-1A West regional title with 141 points at Smithsburg High, and all eight wrestlers the Cavaliers brought to the tournament qualified for states.

The Cavaliers had three individual champions, including Mike Horbey, who won at 119 pounds to give South Carroll its first title of the day. Andrew Winfield (171) and Tim Ferguson (189) also prevailed. Tom Wheeler (145) finished second.

The other Cavaliers to qualify for the state tournament were Stevie Willingham (fourth at 103), C.J. Naper (third at 125), Mike Willingham (fourth at 140) and L.P. Schoonmaker (third at 152).

Williamsport finished second (115 1/2 points); Walkersville took third (111 1/2 ); and Francis Scott Key came in fourth (96 1/2 ).

Francis Scott Key's Reuben Gill (112) and Tom Rush (215) and Liberty's Chris Devilbiss (152) were among the other winners.


Three others from Francis Scott Key qualified for states, including Shane Eyler (125), Luke Schuster (189) and Ralph Stambaugh (heavyweight).