Don’t miss Orioles players, John Means & Paul Fry, as they guest host at our Brews and O’s event!




Auto racing

NASCAR: Fined crew chief Jon R. Wolfe $2,000 for infraction discovered Feb. 20 during Busch Series post-qualifying inspection at North Carolina Speedway.


NATIONAL LEAGUE: Named Gene Brtalik director of media relations.

ANGELS: Agreed to terms with P Chris Bootcheck on one-year contract.

BRAVES: Signed C-OF Eli Marrero to one-year contract extension through 2005.

CARDINALS: Claimed P Luis Martinez on waivers from Brewers.

DEVIL RAYS: Transferred P Seth McClung to 60-day DL.

INDIANS: Signed P Cliff Bartosh, P Rafael Betancourt, P Brian Tallet, IF Jhonny Peralta, IF Corey Smith and OF Grady Sizemore to one-year contracts.

PIRATES: Signed OF Raul Mondesi, who had been with Diamondbacks, to one-year contract with club option for 2005.

REDS: Signed P Mark Watson to minor league contract.

TIGERS: Agreed to terms with P Kenny Baugh, P Nate Cornejo, P Preston Larrison, P Chris Spurling, P Nate Robertson, IF Don Kelly, OF Craig Monroe, OF Cody Ross and OF Alex Sanchez.


NBA: Fined Pistons $200,000 for using F Rasheed Wallace and G Mike James before league finalized the deal that brought them to team.

KINGS: Waived F Lawrence Funderburke.


CENTENNIAL CONFERENCE: Named McDaniel G Toby McIntire (Crofton, St. Mary's) women's basketball Player of Week.

NORTHEAST CONFERENCE: Named Mount St. Mary's G Adrienne Harris women's basketball Player of Week. Named Mount St. Mary's G Mychal Kearse men's basketball Rookie of Week.

CINCINNATI: C Robert Whaley leaves basketball team for personal reasons.

RICHMOND: Named Dave Clawson football coach.

SOUTHEAST MISSOURI STATE: Named Rob Likens offensive coordinator.

TROY STATE: Announced wide receivers coach Arlington Nunn has resigned to become running backs coach at Mississippi.


COLTS: Designated QB Peyton Manning as franchise player.

SAINTS: Designated DE Darren Howard as franchise player.

49ERS: Designated LB Julian Peterson as franchise player. Agreed to terms with RB Kevan Barlow on five-year contract extension.


AVALANCHE: Assigned D Brett Clark to AHL Hershey.

BLACKHAWKS: Recalled G Michael Leighton from AHL Norfolk. Assigned G Adam Munro to Norfolk.

COYOTES: Recalled C Erik Westrum from AHL Springfield.

FLYERS: Recalled D Freddy Meyer from AHL Philadelphia.

RANGERS: Recalled C Cory Larose and RW Paul Healey from AHL Hartford.

SHARKS: Recalled D Christian Ehrhoff from AHL Cleveland.


MISL: Named Blast D Billy Nelson Defensive Player of Week.

METROSTARS (MLS): Announced partnership with Long Island of USL Pro-Select League in joint player development initiative.

Sullivan Award

FINALISTS: Named swimmer Michael Phelps of Towson, Cavaliers G LeBron James, Connecticut G Diana Taurasi, short-track speed skater Apolo Anton Ohno and track athlete Philippa Raschker five finalists for award as top amateur athlete in the United States.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad