Secret Supper is June 17th. Get your tickets before they sell out!





ATHLETICS: Agreed to one-year, $965,000 contract with P Chad Bradford, who had requested $1.125 million in arbitration; the team had offered $850,000.

DIAMONDBACKS: Agreed to one-year, $2.6 million contract with 3B Shea Hillenbrand, who had requested $2.9 million in arbitration; the team had offered $2.4 million.

DODGERS: Named Frank McCourt chairman and Jamie McCourt vice chairman.

PHILLIES: Agreed to one-year, $3.95 million contract with 2B Placido Polanco, wo had requested $4.5 million in arbitration; the team had offered $3.4 million.

REDS: Agreed with P Sean Bergman on minor league contract.

TWINS: Won arbitration case with P Johan Santana, who will get $1.6 million instead of the $2.45 million he requested.


CELTICS: Waived F Vin Baker.

KNICKS: Signed G Dermarr Johnson for remainder of season.


AUBURN: Named Al Borges offensive coordinator.

ILLINOIS: Named Dan Roushar offensive coordinator.

MISSISSIPPI: Named Jay Hopson defensive assistant coach and recruiting coordinator.

NEBRASKA: Named Jay Norvell offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach.

PURDUE: Named Lou Anarumo defensive backs coach.

RUTGERS: Suspended sophomore G Calvin Wooten from men's basketball team for violation of team policy.

ST. JOHN'S: Reinstated men's basketball F Tyler Jones after two-game suspension.

TEXAS: Named Bobby Kennedy receivers coach. Promoted Mac McWhorter to assistant head coach, Michael Haywood to recruiting coordinator and Bruce Chambers to assistant recruiting coordinator.


BUCCANEERS: Signed T Chris Ziemann.

DOLPHINS: Signed C William Delahoussaye.


CAPITALS: Activated D Sergei Gonchar and RW Brian Willsie from injured reserve.

COYOTES: Signed RW Shane Doan to three-year contract extension.

HURRICANES: Placed RW Justin Williams on injured reserve with broken left wrist.

SENATORS: Signed F Rob Ray.


Men's basketball

Today's games

Clemson at Florida State, noon Georgia Tech at Virginia, 2 p.m.

Tomorrow's games

Maryland at UNC, 3:30 p.m. Cincinnati at Wake, 1:30 p.m. Duke at N.C. State, 6:30 p.m. Soccer


Today's games

Blast at San Diego, 10 p.m. Monterrey at K.C., 8:35 p.m. Dallas at Milwaukee, 7 p.m.

Tomorrow's game

Dallas at Cleveland, 3:05 p.m.

Auto racing


Daytona 500 winners

2003 - Michael Waltrip

2002 - Ward Burton

2001 - Michael Waltrip

2000 - Dale Jarrett

1999 - Jeff Gordon

1998 - Dale Earnhardt

1997 - Jeff Gordon

1996 - Dale Jarrett

1995 - Sterling Marlin

1994 - Sterling Marlin

1993 - Dale Jarrett

1992 - Davey Allison

1991 - Ernie Irvan

1990 - Derrike Cope

1989 - Darrell Waltrip

1988 - Bobby Allison

1987 - Bill Elliott

1986 - Geoff Bodine

1985 - Bill Elliott

1984 - Cale Yarborough

1983 - Cale Yarborough

1982 - Bobby Allison

1981 - Richard Petty

1980 - Buddy Baker

1979 - Richard Petty

1978 - Bobby Allison

1977 - Cale Yarborough

1976 - David Pearson

1975 - Benny Parsons

1974 - Richard Petty

1973 - Richard Petty

1972 - A.J. Foyt

1971 - Richard Petty

1970 - Pete Hamilton

1969 - LeeRoy Yarborough

1968 - Cale Yarborough

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad