ASTROS: Placed P Rodrigo Rosario on 15-day DL, retroactive to June 28, with right shoulder tendinitis. Recalled P Brandon Puffer from Triple-A New Orleans.

BLUE JAYS: Placed IF-OF Dave Berg on 15-day DL with fatigue. Recalled former Orioles IF Howie Clark from Triple-A Syracuse.

BREWERS: Voided outright assignment of P Ruben Quevedo to Triple-A Indianapolis; placed him on 15-day DL, retroactive to June 27, with right shoulder tendinitis.

DODGERS: Activated 1B Fred McGriff from 15-day DL. Placed OF Brian Jordan (Milford Mill) on 15-day DL with strained left patella tendon.

GIANTS: Signed former Orioles OF Jeffrey Hammonds to minor league contract.

INDIANS: Optioned P Jose Santiago to Triple-A Buffalo. Recalled P Alex Herrera from Buffalo.

MARLINS: Activated P Josh Beckett from 15-day DL. Optioned P Blaine Neal to Triple-A Albuquerque.

METS: Traded 2B Roberto Alomar to White Sox for P Royce Ring, P Edwin Almonte and 2B Andrew Salvo. Activated IF Rey Sanchez from 15-day DL. Assigned Almonte to Triple-A Norfolk, Ring to Double-A Binghamton and Salvo to Single-A Capital City.

ORIOLES: Acquired former Orioles IF Luis Lopez from Rockies for player to be named; assigned him to Triple-A Ottawa.

PIRATES: Recalled P Mike Lincoln from Triple-A Nashville; activated him from 60-day DL.

REDS: Announced that P Jimmy Anderson refused outright assignment to Triple-A Louisville and chose free agency.

ROCKIES: Placed P Shawn Chacon on 15-day DL, retroactive to June 29, with sore elbow. Activated P Denny Stark off 60-day DL.


BUCKS: Named Larry Harris GM.

MAVERICKS: Signed coach Don Nelson to three-year contract extension and assistant Del Harris to three-year contract.

76ERS: Announced that F Monty Williams exercised contract option for 2003-04 season.

GLOBETROTTERS: Named Rod Baker VP of basketball operations and coach.


NCAA: Announced that men's basketball Final Four will be in San Antonio in 2008, Detroit in 2009, Indianapolis in 2010 and Houston in 2011.

AMERICAN: Announced resignation of AD Tom George.

BINGHAMTON: Named Brian Bidlingmyer men's basketball assistant coach.

BOWLING GREEN: Named Shaun Vandiver men's basketball assistant coach.

UC-IRVINE: Named Terry Boesel men's basketball assistant coach.

FROSTBURG STATE: Named Troy Strieby coach for men's and women's swimming and diving.

HOOD: Announced that F Courtney Bonneville (Thomas Johnson) has committed to play basketball.

LACKAWANNA: Announced that Marcus Williams (Randallstown) will join football program.

UMBC: Named Katie Rokus women's basketball assistant coach.

SOUTHWEST MISSOURI STATE: Promoted Ric Wesley to men's basketball associate head coach.

TEMPLE: Named Carla McGhee women's basketball assistant coach.

WASHINGTON: Rejected suspended football coach Rick Neuheisel's appeal to keep his job.


DOLPHINS: Signed DE Corey Callens to two-year contract.

JETS: Signed WR Carlos Rosado.


AVALANCHE: Acquired D Karlis Skrastins from Predators for future considerations.

BLACKHAWKS: Signed C Scott Nichol, who had been with Flames. Re-signed LW Shawn Thornton.

BLUE JACKETS: Agreed to two-year contract with C Andrew Cassels.

CANADIENS: Announced that they have bought out the contracts of F Mariusz Czerkawski and F Randy McKay, making them unrestricted free agents. Re-signed D Chad Kilger to two-year contract.

FLYERS: Signed free-agent G Jeff Hackett, who had been with Bruins.

KINGS: Signed F Chris Schmidt to one-year contract.

PENGUINS: Didn't make qualifying offer to F Alexander Daigle, D Joel Bouchard, D Shawn Heins, D Hans Jonsson and F Ville Nieminen, allowing them to become free agents.

PREDATORS: Signed F Rem Murray.

RANGERS: Announced that GM Glen Sather will continue as coach.

RED WINGS: Agreed to four-year contract with RW Darren McCarty.

SHARKS: Acquired C Mark Messier from Rangers for future considerations. Declined to pick up option on contract of LW Adam Graves, making him unrestricted free agent.


ESPN: Announced that brothers Pat and Kevin Tillman, who left professional sports careers to join Army, were chosen to receive ESPY's Arthur Ashe Courage Award.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad