NSA honors 4 in the science of codes


Four pioneers in the science of codes were inducted yesterday into the National Security Agency's Hall of Honor.

The inductees this year are:

The late Lambros D. Callimahos, author and teacher of NSA's most advanced course in cryptanalysis, or analyzing codes.

Lowell K. "Jim" Frazer, who helped design standards to test the security of communications systems used by military and intelligence agencies.

Juanita Moody, who helped supervise the agency's day-to-day response to the Cuban Missile Crisis.

The late Howard E. Rosenblum, a pioneer in the development of secure telephones.

The NSA, the country's global eavesdropping and code-breaking agency, founded the Hall of Honor in 1999 to pay "tribute to the pioneers and heroes who have made significant and long-lasting contributions to American cryptology," the NSA said yesterday in a statement.

The hall is in the National Cryptologic Museum, just outside the NSA's Fort Meade headquarters.

To qualify for the honor, NSA employees must have been retired for more than 15 years.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad