Washington-Baltimore Newspaper Guild honors Sun staffers for writing, design


Sun journalists have won Front Page Awards from the Washington-Baltimore Newspaper Guild for criticism, commentary, feature writing and business and sports reporting during last year.

Theater critic J. Wynn Rousuck won first place for commentary, earning the Bernie Harrison Memorial Award for an article that explored the theme of race relations in Rodgers and Hammerstein's South Pacific. She also won the criticism category for a body of work.

Linnell Smith won first place for feature writing for a two-part series that chronicled a woman's struggle with depression. Diana K. Sugg received honorable mention for writing that detailed the difficulties nurses and doctors at the Maryland Shock Trauma Center face in communicating news of a patient's death.

Michael Dresser and William Patalon III won first place in business reporting for an article describing how the state pension board lost millions of dollars by leaving funds under the management of an indicted money manager. M. William Salganik received honorable mention for a profile of insurer WellPoint Health Networks Inc.

Sandra McKee won first place for sports reporting for an auto racing story on "spotters," people who help race car drivers avoid trouble on the tracks. She also received two honorable mentions -- as did Jon Morgan, for two articles about the horse-racing industry.

Laura Barnhardt and Rona Kobell received honorable mentions for investigative reporting for a jointly written article about a property owner in Anne Arundel County's Pioneer City section who was considered an obstacle to neighborhood revitalization.

Kobell also received honorable mention for local news reporting about the plight of Anne Arundel residents living on a mile-long, 400-foot-wide highway median. Jamie Smith Hopkins won honorable mention for describing how Maryland farmland that had been preserved for decades could give way to development.

The Sun also took honors in design categories. Darrell B. Giles Jr. won first place for advertising design, and Felicia Hung received honorable mention. For marketing and promotion design, Rhonda Zillig won first place and received honorable mention.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad