Auto racing

NASCAR: Fined Busch series driver Mike Wallace $3,000 for inappropriate language during telecast of Monday's Rockingham 200.


DODGERS: Signed P Tom Martin to a minor-league contract.

MARINERS: Agreed to one-year contracts with C Ryan Christianson, P Ryan Franklin, P Rhett Johnson, P Steve Kent, P Aaron Looper, P Gil Meche and P Aaron Taylor.

METS: Signed C Vance Wilson to one-year contract.

PHILLIES: Agreed to one-year contracts with P David Coggin, P Bud Smith, P Brandon Duckworth and OF Jason Michaels.

REDS: Agreed to one-year contract with P Jose Acevedo.

TWINS: Signed P Grant Balfour, P Kevin Frederick, P Beau Kemp, DH Matthew LeCroy, OF Dustan Mohr, P Juan Rincon and P Brad Thomas to one-year contracts.


NBA: Suspended Mavericks F Eduardo Najera one game for bumping a referee.

PACERS: Suspended F Ron Artest indefinitely for disciplinary reasons.

WIZARDS: Placed C Etan Thomas on injured list with fractured left eye socket. Activated C Jahidi White from injured list.


COLBY: ECAC named Sarah Walsh (Seton Keough) New England Division III women's basketball Player of the Week.

EAST CAROLINA: Named Rick Stockstill offensive coordinator.

MARYMOUNT: Capital Athletic Conference named G Ashlee Courter (Mercy) women's basketball Athlete of the Week.

MERCYHURST: Announced that they will not renew contract of men's basketball coach Karl Fogel.

NEW MEXICO: Announced that F Michael McCowan has decided to leave men's basketball team.

TOWSON: ECAC named Jennifer Irby (Long Reach) and Aaron Krause Division I Swimmers of the Week.


BEARS: Released QB Jim Miller and T James Williams.

BILLS: Tendered contract offers to P Brian Moorman, FB Phillip Crosby, LB Anthony Denman and DE Grant Irons. Made qualifying offers to RB Sammy Morris, LB DaShon Polk and QB Travis Brown.

BRONCOS: Re-signed CB Jimmy Spencer. Waived LB Keith Burns, then agreed to new contract with him.

BROWNS: Released LB Dwayne Rudd, C Dave Wohlabaugh and CB Corey Fuller. Retained DT Orpheus Roye by signing him to roster bonus. Signed DL Felipe Claybrooks and S Jason Moore to two-year contracts. Tendered contract offers to DB Michael Jameson, DB Lewis Sanders (Maryland), DL Alvin McKinley, OL Shaun O'Hara, TE Aaron Shea and RB Jamel White.

CARDINALS: Signed WR Bryan Gilmore and LB Michael Young to one-year contracts.

COLTS: Terminated contract of OG Waverly Jackson. Waived DB Jermaine Hampton, C Curt McGill and DB Joe Walker.

COWBOYS: Released WR Rocket Ismail.

DOLPHINS: Released WR Dedric Ward, LB Twan Russell, G James Wagstaff, G Jim Bundren and WR Joey Getherall.

EAGLES: Signed QB Koy Detmer to four-year contract.

49ERS: Released DT Dana Stubblefield and G Dave Fiore.

LIONS: Restructured contract of DE Robert Porcher.

PACKERS: Allocated QB Craig Nall to NFL Europe.

PANTHERS: Released TE Wesley Walls.

REDSKINS: Released RB Stephen Davis, S Sam Shade, TE Walter Rasby and P Craig Jarrett.

SAINTS: Promoted assistant secondary coach Joe Baker to defensive backs coach, defensive assistant/quality control coach Greg Brown to secondary/safeties coach and offensive assistant/quality control coach Danny Langsdorf to assistant wide receivers coach. Named John Misciagna offensive assistant/quality control coach.

STEELERS: Released QB Kordell Stewart.

High school

LOYOLA HIGH: The following graduates will be inducted into the Dons' Hall of Fame on March 8 at 6 p.m. in Knott Hall: Vince Bagli (1944, sports anchor), Norman C. Brady ('39, baseball, football, ice hockey), Peter M. Budko ('77, basketball), Thomas W. Greene ('55, football, basketball, tennis), J. Donald Kerr ('37, football, ice hockey, baseball), Kevin P. Mahon ('73, lacrosse), Tracy Mehr (football coach), Sidney H. Roche ('43, football, baseball, basketball), H. Murray Stephens Jr. ('63, swimming), Andrew J. Wagner ('52, football, basketball, baseball).

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad